We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
509
236
45
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
236
45
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdean villagebeautiful librarysquare sausagefamily suitefirst floororiginal featureswest endtop floorbreakfast roomprinces streetcooked breakfastwithin walking distancequiet neighborhoodhaggiscoffee machineplenty of hot waterfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Fantastic 'old-fashioned' hotel, and I mean that as a compliment. Wonderful interior with a great character. The staff were discreet and extremely friendly and helpful. The location is in a quiet area of wonderful granite buildings, but only a short walk to Princes Street or Haymarket and therefore a wide range of restaurants and bars. Couldn't recommend it enough for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrobborobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We arrived at the hotel early and yet were allowed the keys and access to the room which was great, upgrated to a beautiful room with four poster bed and very spacious. Clean, everything you need for a comfortable two night break, we will definitely stay again at Melvin house. Only a five minute walk to Princess Street, in a quiet location in a very pleasant street

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have returned tonight from Edinburgh and the delightful Melvin House Hotel. Lovely room, lovely breakfast and very convenient location. The staff were also very obliging. We went for 3 nights with our friends and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We spent three nights at the Melvin House on our way to the Highlands and returned for a fourth night on the way home. Can't say enough good things about the Melvin House and their helpful staff. Absolutely great breakfasts, spacious rooms (even in comparison to American hotels) clean, tastefully decorated rooms with comfortable beds, and we had great views of the Castle and the Firth of Fourth. The Library is amazing, the bar, lobby and dining rooms exude comfort and charm. Very convenient location close to Princes Street, Rose Street, the National Gallery, the Castle and Dean Village. We highly recommend this "best kept secret" in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have just read the reviews of the melvin house hotel, and i would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes the old style sottish hotel, suberb views, clean and goes back into history with its old style, no nonsense hotel. Quiet hotel, no noise and the staff are excellent, the rooms manager was very helpful. She made us so welcome as did all the other staff. In 3 words, old, supberb and clean!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh7central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews