We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place, friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Star

China Star
Ranked #1,676 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West End
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice little place, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

While staying nearby beside Haymarket we decided to venture out really late for a meal. This was the first place we found & had not seen some of the reviews on here before we went! Based on our own experience, I would have to say this place seemed absolutely fine, we didnt have any issues at all!

Food was served very quickly and with a smile - also tasted really good. Couldnt really complain at all! While this isnt a top class a la carte place, if you want an authentic hidden gem then try China Star! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so bang tidy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Party of 6 on an international day. We were seated and ordered promptly. It was 2 hours between our soup and main. When we complsined we were told that we'd had two courses. Food was great but the service was awful. I understand it was a busy shift but at least serve people in the order of arrival. Toilets were revolting.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbles_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wasn't too impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

After arriving in Edinburgh, me and my friend wanted something warm and delicious as we were tired, cold and hungry. The first problem is that they didn't have enough menu's so we had to keep swapping. Ordering food was a HUGE problem. Despite the waitresses being smiley, there was a huge language barrier. We could not get across what we wanted, even resorting to typing on my phone what we meant so that they could understand. Despite this we still got the wrong food! Instead of sweet and sour sauce we got a huge bowl of soup, which neither of us wanted/ate.The bill was a lot more expensive and inaccurate but there was no point in arguing so we payed and left. The food was average, nothing special, and we didn't feel satisfied when we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, paltry portions, dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Popped in here with my boyfriend on a whim for dinner since I didn't feel like cooking. My portion was so small that I left hungry. For an £8 main course (and more for rice), we could have got far more food (and better quality) at the takeaway. We found a hair in our prawn crackers, and my wine glass had a previous patron's lipstick on it. Soup was gloopy and tasted awful. Won't be back - ever.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, good time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

After an early evening stroll into Edinburgh centre we decided to eat somewhere on our way back to Haymarket. We tried a couple of tourist price places on the way but found no room at the inn. This was Saturday evening. The China Star looked a bit cheaper and a couple of tables of Chinese diners persuaded us to go in. We were not disappointed.
The staff were friendly,helpful and efficient. The menu was a little more unusual that what is normally seen on standard Chinese menu. This included spicy dishes, fish dishes and spicy fish dishes. Lots of lamb too. One of our dishes was a hot pot casserole which was declared delicious. We ate everything put before us. Portions were not huge but fried rice was enough for two as an accompaniment to a substantial main course.
All in all just what we wanted at that time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Star also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing