We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for quick lunch”
Review of China Star

China Star
Ranked #1,578 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for quick lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lunchtime menu varied and good value - the food was well cooked and served hot. Would recommend without doubt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, very friendly.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I discovered this little gem a few years ago. The manager and staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic. The restaurant itself is rather small, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. The prices, especially their lunch menu is very resonable. We had a birthday party here back in Feb and most of our friends commented on the rather unusual but delicious strawberry chicken. We will be definitely coming back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice little place, friendly service”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

While staying nearby beside Haymarket we decided to venture out really late for a meal. This was the first place we found & had not seen some of the reviews on here before we went! Based on our own experience, I would have to say this place seemed absolutely fine, we didnt have any issues at all!

Food was served very quickly and with a smile - also tasted really good. Couldnt really complain at all! While this isnt a top class a la carte place, if you want an authentic hidden gem then try China Star! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so bang tidy”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Party of 6 on an international day. We were seated and ordered promptly. It was 2 hours between our soup and main. When we complsined we were told that we'd had two courses. Food was great but the service was awful. I understand it was a busy shift but at least serve people in the order of arrival. Toilets were revolting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jumbles_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wasn't too impressed”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After arriving in Edinburgh, me and my friend wanted something warm and delicious as we were tired, cold and hungry. The first problem is that they didn't have enough menu's so we had to keep swapping. Ordering food was a HUGE problem. Despite the waitresses being smiley, there was a huge language barrier. We could not get across what we wanted, even resorting to typing on my phone what we meant so that they could understand. Despite this we still got the wrong food! Instead of sweet and sour sauce we got a huge bowl of soup, which neither of us wanted/ate.The bill was a lot more expensive and inaccurate but there was no point in arguing so we payed and left. The food was average, nothing special, and we didn't feel satisfied when we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Star also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing