We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”
Review of China Star

China Star
Ranked #1,578 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

As there have noted, this little gem is never than it first appears. As usual we were first in on a Tuesday evening, but found behind the appearance of a run of the mill takeaway was a nice bright interior, plain but typically Chinese. Helpful staff and service that was quick without being rushed. Three fine main courses (Anglo Chinese staples of crispy chilli beef, chicken with cashew nuts and chicken curry) with a generous serving if egg fried rice, well prepared with good quality meat. Just zingy enough and not at all greasy. We clearly judged well because by the time we left, the place was nearly full.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A clean and friendly eating place. The food was excellent, I ate here three times in one week while visiting Edinburgh. The house special soup is highly recommended as well as the roast duck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jumbie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A wonderful evening!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A wee treasure of a restaurant which sits behind a very unassuming frontage, but once you step inside it is a surprisingly bright and welcoming haven with friendly and extremely helpful staff who are very attentive and cheerful along with delicious and authentic food- we enjoyed our evening hugely! My daughter loved the Jasmine tea and we would both recommend the crispy duck pancakes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chihuahuamum28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for quick lunch”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lunchtime menu varied and good value - the food was well cooked and served hot. Would recommend without doubt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, very friendly.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I discovered this little gem a few years ago. The manager and staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic. The restaurant itself is rather small, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. The prices, especially their lunch menu is very resonable. We had a birthday party here back in Feb and most of our friends commented on the rather unusual but delicious strawberry chicken. We will be definitely coming back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Star also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing