We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, tasty homecooked food”
Review of The Stupa

The Stupa
Ranked #1,757 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No frills, tasty homecooked food”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I had a takeaway from here. To start I had momos, which are like chinese dumplings with a meat filling. They were pretty good, I could tell a lot of care had gone into the filling. For a main I had a pork-spinach curry. Again this was lovely - rich but not oily and heavy like an Indian version.

The staff here are extremely friendly, and along with the great value of its dishes, The Stupa deserves to do well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doug1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“no customers on a saturday night,bad sign.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Situated in leith walk this tibetan nepalese restaurant looked worth a go.Only a small place half take away with about six tables set up for dining .Starters mixed platter cold in the middle with small pieces of frankfurters cut in a novel shape not what i expected .Mains were better stupa basket curry and a mixed curry very nice. Staff friendly but as we were the only ones ,she wasn,t hard pushed.All in all we,ve been and were a little disapointed won,t rush back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russellp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Very tasty food.Mo Mo, Chiken chilly was bset.Staf were very polite and freindly.and also price is good.i would like to visit again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a real Nepalese restaurant with great food!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We saw this on our way back to the hotel, and so wanted to check it out. The Nepalese staff were very warm and welcoming. The prices were also very reasonable. The Momos, in particular, were great. I would highly recommend them.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Digantam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Spen, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great food, lovely people”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This place is half take-away, half sit down cafe/restaurant and is relatively new. It deserves to succeed as the food was lovely, plenty of it and the owners work hard to make you feel at home. We stayed for a sit down meal and had a good selection of daal and vegetable curries, dips and rice. Their breads are quite unusual but really tasty. The Napalese soup to start was excellent. We also tries a lamb dish which boyfriend said was cooked well and nice and tender (don't eat meat myself but he is an expert!). Overall a really nice place, excellent Napalese flavours and I would give it 5/5 if it had a BYOB policy. Don't expect a proper sit down restaurant, thats not the feel they have gone for but the food is as good or better than you get in most restaurants.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stupa also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Stupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing