We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation in a brilliant location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a brilliant location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Place for two nights while visiting Edinburgh for a family wedding.

From the outset the staff could not do enough for us. On arrival the current tram works, which is no fault of the hotel, did cause some problems finding the car park, however a very helpful chap from reception walked and stood in the space to guide us and also helped carry our luggage back to the hotel! Thanks Robbie!

The rooms were very modern and clean with fresh crisp bedding. The bathroom was more than adequate with complimentary toiletries.

The bar had everything you could require at very reasonable prices.

Now, breakfast.... One word, AMAZING! As well as the lovely selection of cereals, fresh fruits and pastries, there was a lovely hot buffet of sausages, eggs, beans, potato cakes etc. Plus a great selection of orders fresh from the kitchen, I can highly recommend the fresh pancakes or eggs benedict. The kitchen is halal, BUT please don't let this put you off, you will not go hungry trust me!

I could go on praising The Place, but I'd never get to sleep!

I cannot wait to stay again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Thanks to all The Place Team.

Miss C Crawshaw and Family

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareyC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear ClareyC83

Many thanks for posting such a nice review. Robbie is delighted to get a personal mention and says 'hello and thanks'

We have gone to great lengths to ensure we have the highest calibre of staff and young Robbie certainly fits this profile.

We have also worked very hard to produce an outstanding breakfast with plenty of options and I am pleased you enjoyed it.

I hope you will pay us a visit again soon.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    351
    178
    73
    33
See reviews for
78
527
60
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We just had our second stay at The Place. Although there was only the two of us, we had a fantastic room. There was 2 double beds, tea/coffee and ironing facilities, a large flat screen TV on the wall, double wardrobe, lots of storage, a hairdryer, a full length mirror and a modern clean neutral tilled en-suite with crisp white towels and complementary toiletries.
I appreciated the quirky but artistic furnishings -the chunky chocolate lampshade centrepieces, the canvases’ on the wall and the Lime green cups, which highlighted the rich chocolate and fresh lime theme throughout the hotel.
Breakfast did not disappoint – ample servings of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pastries, meat/cheese never mind the option of anything from the hot buffet- cooked to order. Overall I would recommend booking a Superior Room in this modern but still traditional hotel to couples or a family, great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear C C

Many thanks for posting your review which was a fantastic and motivational read for our staff and management.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed you second stay with us and hope there are many more visits to come.

See you again soon

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel is on a bus and tram line; there is street noise and noise from nearby pubs in the wee hours. There is no AC, so you likely won't close the windows. The rooms are clean but spartan, with almost no room for clothes in the "closet." The bathrooms are small, but that is typical for the UK and were clean and adequate. Staff problem: we were awakened at 3 am by someone walking into our room. Evidently staff had given him our room number and the same key code. Although they apologized, they never explained how this could happen, and never offered us any sort of compensation for the terrifying event. Beware.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face York Place. If you are not young and strong, ask for a lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan_SFremont_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Evan_SFreemont_CA

Thanks for taking the time to make your feelings known to us. It genuinely helps us improve.

The hotel benefits from a city centre location. I am afraid that some city noise is the price we have to pay for that.

I am sorry if you feel we played a part in the scenario of the unwelcome visitor to your room in the early hours. However I am assured that no duplicate key was issued for your room, nor was the door lock activated during the night. This is confirmed by the logging system linked to every door in the hotel.

I am aware that the gentleman in question had over indulged in our hospitality and wandered into the wrong room which by all accounts was insecure. He was most apologetic in the morning but no action we took allowed him to access your room. I am sorry if this was not explained properly to you and would be happy to discuss in further detail if you care to contact me at the hotel or at the email address below.

smclay@yorkplace-edinburgh.co.uk

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Location is great being close to the city center and bus station. But if you happen to have a room facing the front, you will hear every bus coming around the corner (day and night). You can even hear people talking when they walk on the street... Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff was very helpful. However, the price was far from worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Alain R

Many thanks for posting a review after your stay.

I am not able to detect when you stayed or what price you paid, however it should be noted that the street outside the hotel is now closed to general traffic and is significantly quieter than it has been this summer.

We constantly measure our prices against other hotels and on most dates we feel we represent better value for money than most similar hotels in the city centre.

I hope that you might like to visit again at some stage. Perhaps you might like to try a room towards the back of the hotel where the issues you had do not exist at all.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

After ready many reviews some good some poor, we decided on giving this hotel a try, based on the fact the poor reviews appear to be from people who want something for nothing, or the fact the highlight of any stay they have is to moan about the digs, the food etc.

having booked a superior double we were not dissapointed in the room at all, clean spacious and comfortable with a 4star bathroom, the breakfast was ample even though there wasnt any bacon (halal) other goodies were inplentiful supply. the staff lived up to the reviews and were very friendly and had smiles on their faces. we did not have evening meals their as there is a vast amount of quality eating establishments within walking distance, but we did like the cocktail/bar which had live music one night which was very good to relax to.

the only minor blot and it was minor and not the hotels fault, is the fact major tram improvements are going on outside the front door with an 8.15 start, but its progress and needs to be done, a warning would have been nice.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room and you will have nothing to moan about
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davethezip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear davethezip

Thanks for taking the time to make your points. The Place is INDEED the place !!

The tram-works are progressing nicely and most of the heavier work has been completed. The street is now entirely closed to traffic leaving us with a blissfully peaceful exterior environment during the night.

It goes without saying that we also recommend our superior rooms. Many thanks again for your comments. Haste ye back !!

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed in what they called a 'superior room'. It was a lovely big room at the back of the building, with a very comfortable bed. Superb view out towards Fife. Modern attractive decor through out the hotel.

Excellent breakfast. Good location, close to city centre.

Will happily go back. The only reason I didn't give five stars is the absence of a lift, but I can see that there would be difficulties in installing one in an old building.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Emerlist

Thanks for taking the time to post such a pleasing review. There are indeed obstacles in place which prevent us from having a lift in the building. I am sure you agree that the view from some of the upper level rooms is worth the effort of using the stairs

Many thanks again

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Place is visually very impressive. The modern bar and dining area are superb, and the hotel overall is extremely clean and well presented. The staff were attentive and helpful throughout our stay. The quality of food is also outstanding.
Unfortunately there were a few things that spoiled our stay. Firstly was the noise that the internal corridor fire doors make. This was unbelievable. The rubber/brush lining was so loud when the doors were opened/closed. On top of that, when they slammed shut, the corridor walls shook. Our room was located near the cleaner's room, so from 6.30am - 1.30am we heard the door continuously. I asked the receoption staff to move our room and explained why. I was glad that they placed a door stop under the first door to stop it closing. Unfortunately two hours later it was gone, and the door returned to normal behaviour. I appreciate the need for health and safety, but the design of these two doors beggars belief. I see that other people have also complained about this, so the issue has been going on for months now.
Also, the double beds and room sizes are both very small. At 6"4 my feet hung off the end of the bed! Although that didn't bother me too much, if you are staying here, avoid all the 38xx rooms if you can purely because of the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the corridor fire doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear EvilDr

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The main thrust of your post indicates that you enjoyed your stay overall, with one or two let downs.

The design of the fire prevention doors on the lower ground floor was insisted upon by the authorities and we had little choice but to comply.

The 'cosy' style of the double rooms on the lower ground are not to everyone's taste, however we feel they are priced to match the facility offered.

I hope that you might return one day and take a room in one of our upper floors, which although slightly more expensive, would certainly suit your needs better.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34 - 38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing