We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it :)”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #110 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love it :)”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights from 8th-10th Feb.
We arrived too early to check in, but the lady on reception was lovely and helpful. She said she would look after our bags until check in.
When we returned later to check in, we had our bags taken to our room by a young man, who chatted with us on the way to our room and asked us what we would be doing over the weekend, he was friendly and helpful.
The room was very cosy and was perfect for what we needed.
The room and bathroom were very clean.
We slept well also, there was no noise heard from other guests or staff during the night and we weren't disturbed on Sunday morning by the cleaners (we like a sleep in!)
There was lots to choose from at breakfast, the dining room is very modern.
We had our tea at the hotel on Saturday night and were served by a lady with short reddish hair, she was lovely and attentive and went over the menu with us.
I had fish and chips and my boyfriend has burger and chips and they were both cooked to perfection-very tasty and not too expensive either.
I had read in previous reviews about the roadworks due to tramlines being made outside the hotel. It's easily accessible by foot and taxis can drop you off very near-don't let it put you off booking as this hotel is wonderful!
There is not one bad thing to say about the hotel-I'm just looking forward to coming back! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozwozkaboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear jozwozkaboz

Many thanks for posting your lovely review.

I am so pleased that practically every aspect of your stay pleased you. We work very hard to get everything right and it seems we achieved that in your case.

You would be most welcome to come back and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    369
    187
    74
    37
See reviews for
80
552
62
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Booked this hotel on an offer directly on their website and pictures looked good - in reality this hotel is better than it looks on the site. Really immaculate, trendy and funky decor but with the very friendly staff, it is not a "posh and intimidating" hotel at all!

I spoke to Spencer before we got their who was great in recommending restaurants, bars and generally telling me about the area. When we checked in the two guys (sorry don't know names but one has curly hair!) were friendly and welcoming. Repeated with earnest that they were there 24 hour a day if we need anything.

The restaurant we popped to for a snack was lovely food, good price and again friendly staff.

Generally the hotel was always immaculately clean and on a cold wintery weekend, kept warm but not too hot.

Big thanks to Isiah (sorry for spelling!) the newest bartender. He gallantly kept me company whilst I was in the bar alone, was friendly and chatty and funny! (Enjoy your trip to Monaco!!)

Overall a brilliant hotel and could not imagine staying anywhere else - PS location is actually 10 mins from everywhere and not an exaggeration!

Room Tip: Due to offer I upgraded to the superior room and it was HUGE! Lovely bed and all the amenities with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Mish2380

Many thanks for posting such a nice review.

It is very pleasing that your contact with so many members of staff was worthy of such high praise.

Thanks also for flagging up our very reasonable upgrade supplements which we highly recommend.

I hope that we see you again here soon.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I needed accomodation at short notice and found the Place from an app. I had a very small room at the front of the hotel which was extremely hot as the radiator thermostat was broken. The bed was underneath the window which meant I had to stand on the sill to open the old fashioned window without a catch, I ended up jamming it open with a shoe! Dust on the lamp & phone, no remote for the TV and no spoon for the tea /coffee. People having cigarettes outside the hotel during the night meant their chat could heard and tram line installation early in the morning was very noisy. I would not recommend The Place for a last minute booking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing York Street whilst the installation of tramlines is ongoing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Mick W

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We would urge anyone who has checked in to a room that they are clearly not happy with to return to reception immediately and ask to be moved or to have the issues addressed. This gives us a fair chance to fix things before they appear on here.

Obviously, I am sorry that there were quite a few issues which spoiled your experience with us and those where we are at fault have been highlighted to the relevant managers.

If you care to contact me in person before your next visit to Edinburgh, I will ensure that your next experience with us is a far more satisfactory one.

smclay@yorkplace-edinburgh.co.uk

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Lovely hotel which has been modernised beautifully but has also kept many of the original features of the building which works very well. Worth the climb to the top floor for the views over to Fife. Liked the bar, friendly and not over-priced. In fact, all the staff were friendly and helpful, and the full Scottish breakfast was one of the best!
The location is a perfect base for exploring Edinburgh and beyond, being close to Waverley Station and the Bus Station. We go to Edinburgh often and will definitely book again at "The Place".

Room Tip: great views from the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiedog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear rosiedog99

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your stay. It means a lot when people make the effort to record their praise.

The views from the top floor are indeed worth the climb, especially on a crisp clear winters day.I had a little time for a gaze out from the top floor this morning. Stunning !

Your comments regarding the staff confirm that we continue to put a lot of effort in for our guests and I am pleased that so many people notice this.

Hope to see you again soon

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Loved this place, warm, welcoming and so well placed for enjoying a weekend in Edinburgh. All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, from the young man who guided us to the car park, to the young lady who kindly mopped up the orange juice I spilled at breakfast!! Large, modern comfortable bedrooms and top marks for having a well lit mirror in the bedroom with a comfy seat and electric points to hand. It drives me bonkers when the only good mirror is in the bathroom... so if you want to dry hair and put on make up you have to wait til partner has finished in the shower. Great view from our room too, and very peaceful at night. The real treat was the excellent light lunch we had when we arrived on Saturday,and the fabulous breakfast on Sunday. Husband and I both agreed we would use the bar and restaurant for lunch if we were in Edinburgh just for the day...a peaceful haven with a lovely menu, and great value for money. We loved everything about our stay...and the fabulous unusual crystal lighting in the bar and lounge area was my favourite!!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikersusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Bikersusie

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel.

We are offering an escort service to our car park for the time being because, as you know, the roadworks in the area make life that bit more difficult, especially if you are a visitor. Anyone reading this can request this service if they contact the hotel on their approach by car.

If you loved everything (thanks for saying so) then I am sure we can expect you back at some stage and we very much look forward to having you.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Excellent stay. Staff were friendly and efficient. Porter who came with us to get to their carpark was exceedingly helpful. Room was very pleasant and of good size. Great view out to the Firth of Forth. Well situated for central Edinburgh and once the Tram line is operational will be ideal.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back as they are quieter and the view over to the Firth of Forth is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevsuePerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear kevsuePerth_Scotland

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review.

We certainly seemed to have matched your expectations and we would be delighted to see you again soon

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We checked into the Place hotel with good expectations judging by the pictures when we booked and the reviews we had read. We booked a standard double for two nights which looked perfectly standard on the pictures. When we checked in we were shown to a room on the top floor of the hotel which has no lift, and that can only be described as in the attic and so small you couldnt swing a cat in it. We knew these rooms existed but on the website they were in the "city double" category. When we questioned the hotel staff they advised that the pictures on the websites do not match the actual room that you might be booking, a little misleading i thought. When we asked to be moved to a bigger room we were told that we could upgrade for the first night but the second night we would have to move back to a small room. We also had to pay for the upgrade which we felt was fair however did feel the hotel has been misleading and they offered no apology for the mix up. We paid to upgrade to a superior double, which on arrival was the exact same as the picture on the website for a standard double. We cancelled our second night and moved hotels the next morning. It is a shame as the standard double room that we were expecting was a lovely room. We wouldnt stay here again, purely down to the lack of acknowledgement that they had mislead their customers or the fact that they had put us into a smaller room when we had booked a bigger one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear clare r

Thanks for taking the time to make your comments. We welcome the not so good reviews in the same spirit that we welcome the good ones as it focusses attention on the need to keep on our toes and gives us the chance to explain concerns that others might have.

The main thrust of your review was room types, particularly our marketing and photographs. On the upper floors the variety of room shapes and sizes is much more pronounced than it is on the lower floor where the cosy rooms are almost identical. Your particular room, whilst on the topmost level, has the benefit of one of the finest views of the city that there is. We felt that this takes it into a higher standard overall than the cosy doubles are and we stand by the description of the room as 'standard' There are rooms with more floor space in the same category but few offer that kind of view.

The photographs of rooms are designed to be a 'sample' of the type of room. It isnt possible to photograph and display every room. I am sorry if you found the photos we have displayed to be misleading. We have reviewed the photos concerned and we are happy that the content and images are, in general, accurately descriptive of the type of room you might expect if you book that particular standard of room.

In any event, 99 times out of 100 we are able to move people around a bit so that everyone gets a room that fulfils their needs. Usually we charge for an upgrade where a lower standard of room from the one desired was booked, as was the case with your booking. I am sorry that on this rare occasion we were not able to fully meet your needs.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further I would welcome that opportunity

smclay@yorkplace-edinburgh.co.uk

Kindest regards


Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 149 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK and Cancelon so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing