We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Wouldn't go anywhere else”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel was great for our trip to Edinburgh. The hotel itself is modern and stylish, and in a great location. Everything we wanted to visit was in walking distance, really close to the bars and restaurants and a 5 min walk to the main station.

When we arrived we had booked parking for our friend that drove up but it turns out he didn't need it, we explained this and it was cancelled without a problem. All staff are more than helpful, welcoming and even partake in good banter (especially when you're wearing an ireland rugby jersey). The option of a wee nightcap was also appreciated in the very trendy bar.

Holding the bags for a while after checkout was another service we availed of for an extra trip around town.

loved this 'place' and the staff alike

p.s loved the banksy decorations in the hallways

Room Tip: use the trip advisor city guide for edinbugh to get around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Michael M

Many thanks for posting a review.

Nice to see that you appreciated the staff interaction in particular and we very much hope to see you on your next trip back to Edinburgh


Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Weekend stay - really good large room with two big double beds. There is no lift but such is the historic nature of these buildings, putting one in would destroy the character - which the hotel has managed to retain even though it is fully modernised to a really high standard. The people are absolutely lovely - everyone had a genuine smile - and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was an extra but at less than £10 was really good value. Overnight, front rooms can be a little noisey from people on the street but not such that it was a major issue. As it was the weekend there was no work on the tram installation and on Monday work started when we were up and about at 0830 and then not such that it was a major disturbance. Highly recommend...almost worth a visit just to meet the people working there!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more the steps - but anyone with any reasonable level of fitness should no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Kaybee49

Many thanks for posting a review of the hotel.

I agree concerning the the lift, although we wouldnt be able to gain permission for one, the look and feel of the property is better for not having having one.

We do get a little street noise from time to time but that is the downside of being slap bang in the middle of a busy city centre and I am pleased to say that most guests hardly notice it, or at least tolerate and understand it.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back sometime soon

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, which is ideally located in the centre of Edinburgh. The hotel is very well presented, and the staff are incredibly helpful. I would happily recommend this hotel to any couple visiting the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Olly V

Thanks very much for your review.

Our staff take a great deal of pride in preserving their glowing reputation in this forum and I am pleased that it is repeatedly commented on.

Thanks again for your kind comments. We hope you will visit again

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel was great for our first trip to Edinburgh. The hotel itself is modern and stylish, and in a great location. Everything we wanted to visit was in walking distance, really close to the centre, bars and restaurants and a 5 min walk to the main station. We did not have breakfast included, but there was a great cafe round the corner called Elderberry.

Room Tip: Our room was positioned at the back of the hotel on the top floor. Its an excellent view of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear JennyT2013

Thanks for taking the trouble to post a review.

We are very lucky to have almost everything within short walking distance and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.

We look forward to having you back sometime soon.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend mid week (Tuesday to Thursday) mid February for our trip to Edinburgh. The hotel was immaculate and very modern inside whilst retaining original features such as the main staircase and the high ceilings. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, they answered and queries we had and organised us a taxi.

The room itself was extremely well presented and was huge. We stayed in a superior double room which faced out onto York Place. Granted there were roadworks going on as part of the tram work within Edinburgh but this didn't detract from the stay at all and caused no inconvenience at all. The bathroom was clean, large enough and had a shower/bath combo.

The hotel is extremely well situated to the main attractions such as the Royal Mile and Princes Street and the museums. Furthermore it is only about a 7-10 minute walk from the train station.

We were informed by the staff that most of the bars and restaurants were on George Street and Rose Street. We went to Rose Street on our second evening for dinner and it was only about an 8 minute drive away although if it was a bit warmer it would have been easy enough to walk.

The bar/lounge area was extremely well presented and contemporary. The barman was helpful on both evenings and the prices were very reasonable.

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in the hotel and upon our next visit to Edinburgh this will be the first place we check for availability. We genuinely had nothing adverse to say about the hotel whatsoever hence the high rating. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Aidan29

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and photographs.

Yours was a comprehensive and informative review which shows us in a light that is very pleasing and which we strive to maintain for all our guests.

Very much hope to have you back to stay at some point in the future.

Thanks again

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

my partner booked the hotel for the weekend,feb 16th to 18th and what a find, great location for touring around the city, from check in to departure, what can we say, room was spotless and comfertable, the bar was fresh and vibrant good choice of wines on what we sampled, the food was outstanding, saturday we dined at the hotel highly recomend the set menu, on sunday and monday we ate breakfast and again from service and choice, the buffet for me was great, hot and fresh, my partner loved the kipper from the choice menu, fresh to order from the kitchen, my compliments to the chef , sorry did not get his name also a high service from violeta. we shall be returning during the festival, hope we manage to book the place.

Room Tip: great room we had , ask for back view room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear derekp

Many thanks for your review

We seem to have got every thing right for you which is what we aim for. Many thanks for the kind words and we look forward to having you back some day soon

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

we picked this hotel because of its location near to playhouse, good decision
location is good for bus station & central edinburgh
hotel itself was of a good standard, looks like it has been modernised recently. unfortunately we found ourselves on the top floor in the attic, at the hotel front. room was large with plenty of space for clothes
as there is no lift you have to walk up the stairs. we arrived early & our luggage was already in the room when we returned to book in
we had a pre-theatre meal, choice of 2 or 3 courses, which although not big helpings was very enjoyable
we had the bedroom window open all night & heard some noisy revellers wandering about, traffic was non-existant because of the tram works. luckily we stayed friday night & no works were in progress over the weekend
we booked breakfast for the morning. great variety to choose from, both pre-cooked buffet & cooked to order dishes
very enjoyable stay, staff were welcoming & friendly
we are returning to edinburgh in november to see a show at the playhouse
this hotel will be our first choice. we will be travelling with friends & have told them of our enjoyable stay

Room Tip: try to ask for a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DundeeDellboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear DundeeDellboy

Many thanks for posting a review.

Your review struck a nice balance between being informative without being critical or deducting scores for things we are not in control of. We accept that there is a certain amount of street noise in a busy city centre and do our best to minimise the effects. The upside is that we are a short walk from almost everything you would want to do in Edinburgh.

Hope to see you again and we will do our best to get you a bit lower down next time.

Kindest regards

Stephen McLay
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing