We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Place
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
US$276
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$80
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Novotel Edinburgh Centre(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
404
399
204
82
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
399
204
82
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftyork placetop floorvelux windowdouble showerbasement roomhuge roomlovely hoteltram linesuperior roomboutique hotelprinces streetcentral locationmain attractionsstayed here for one nightfull scottish breakfasttea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I found all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was modern and very comfortable. I had a meal in the bar which was absolutely gorgeous and very good value for money. It was very convenient to the shops and Princess Street. The only downside is there isn't a lift so I wouldn't recommend it to people who are unable to go up plenty of stairs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Ikab,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and meal with us.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night in the most amazing suite. We have never seen such a huge bed!!! Gorgeous quiet room, everything perfect and every single member of staff could not do enough for us. We will definitely be back. Thankyou for making our stay to beautiful Edinburgh such a magical one!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Helen W,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review – I particularly like the title!!
Not much I can say, except thanks again and see you soon!
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a good value hotel. Nice building, well located with good staff and public areas. Good rooms for the price. Recommended for a budget trip that does not feel too budget. Convenient for Princes Street, shopping, art galleries and public transport. Many good pubs and restaurants around.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear reiver59,
Many thanks for your review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be good value for money.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Place and are looking forward to returning! The location is absolutely ideal, 5 minutes to the Playhouse and 2 minutes to the shops at the St James' Centre and Multrees Walk.

We were lucky enough to have a suite and wow, it was incredible! The room was huge and the bed was 8ft wide! Stunning views over Edinburgh, comfy lounge area and a great bathroom (although having no door was a bit odd :) )

We had a lovely dinner before going to The Lion King and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed some drinks in the bar, which was stylish and reasonably priced. Breakfast was just as good, with lots to choose from, I had pancakes with fruit and yoghurt and my boyfriend really enjoyed his full Scottish breakfast.

We found all the staff to be friendly and chatty, and very helpful. Thanks to the kind chap who braved the cold to show us to the car park and put our bags in the room.

The only small gripe is the layout meant some guests had to walk through the restaurant with luggage while we were eating, which is not ideal.

But overall we can't praise The Place highly enough and have told all our friends about it! See you again soon!

Room Tip: We had the suite in room 3605, check out the giant bed!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheretonext_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear wheretonext_9,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your theatre break so much. Be sure to keep an eye on our packages for 2014, which you will find on our website.
See you soon!
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

beautiful hotel... very helpful and friendly staff. on arrival given a free upgrade which was lovely. room very clean and comfortable... rooms really nicely and simply decorated with style. bed comfy. phoned ahead to put a bottle wine in room and done with easy, much appreciated!

Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Declan M,
Thank you for your review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted you were able to benefit from a free upgrade!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews