We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveller rating
413
411
214
86
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
411
214
86
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttop flooryork placevelux windowdouble showerhuge roomsuperior roomlovely hoteltram lineboutique hotelprinces streetcentral locationfull scottish breakfastmain attractionstea coffeestayed here for one nightshort break
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at The Place in August 2013 when we visited Edinburgh for the Fringe. Although not cheap, it was a perfect base for the festival - central (about a 10 minute slow walk to the Royal Mile) and right next door to some of the venues. However, it was also quiet so provided some respite from the mayhem in the City! Great staff, so helpful and efficient. Also great food at a reasonable price. We travelled with family and spent 3 nights here - we would definitely stay again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear KGB69
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place January 4th-5th.. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly & because of a small mix up with booking we were upgraded to the suite room 3815 free of charge!! It was huge, 2large beautiful windows, 2double beds, walk in double shower & bath. The room was very modern & clean with large wardrobe, iron & iron board, complementary tea&coffee.
The hotel location was fantastic just along from Queens street, 5min walk from Waverly Trainstation & 5min from Harvey Nicks, princess st & George st.. The hotel made our stay even better, would definitely return!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ellie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Ellie1990,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry there was a slight mix up with your booking, but glad we were able to sort it out and upgrade you to a suite – 3817 is one of my favourite rooms…one of the best views you will ever see from a bath! Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked The Place for our Hogmanay visit to Edinburgh having previously stayed on The Royal Mile but decided to try The Place, 36 York Place, Edinburgh.
Hotel is easy to find despite previous reviews - number is on the front door after all.
We booked an executive room - 3415 - which was large, spacious, modern and clean with complementary tea and coffee and an iron and ironing board. Room was very warm but radiators are easily adjusted.
Didn't eat at the hotel as it was purely a base for the celebrations.
Staff were friendly and helpful and leaving our suitcase after checkout was a bonus.
Located just five mins from Princess Street we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: 3415 was large, spacious and modern
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear LinconshireFoodie,
Many thanks for your review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Hogmanay at The Place. I hope that on your next visit you will have the opportunity to eat with us as we’d love to hear your feedback!
Hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A simple, friendly and clean hotel, not far from anything. Good price, would definitely stay there again.The breakfast was simple, but ok for a short stay. Nice staff, Suitable for business and couples if you want a reasonable hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tondonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear tondonna,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We chose this hotel based on its central location and close proximity to the train station. As soon as we entered The Place we got a warm welcome from the receptionist who was friendly and helpful. When shown our room, a first floor suite we were blown away. The room was huge with outstanding decor, high ceilings and a first class bathroom with free standing bath and double shower. We also enjoyed the buffet and cooked breakfast in the morning.
Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenni20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear jenni20,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Delighted everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews