We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and value for money ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #114 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food and value for money ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We were at a whisky tasting event at The Place on Saturday evening and decided to book for dinner.

There is a limited but excellent choice of food for a set price two or three course dinner.

The service was fast and friendly and the food was excellent.
Great value for money.

I can't understand why it's not busy! Perhaps we were late eaters.

We stayed at the Hotel last year and had dinner then and it was great.

A wee gem in Central Edinburgh.

We will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchickUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear rockchickUk,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent experience. I’m glad you enjoyed the Whisky tasting and decided to stay for dinner. We are working hard behind the scenes to get our name out there and change the fact that we’re not as bust as we should be all the time. Word of mouth and reviews like yours really do help, so thanks again! We are launching our new menu’s this weekend, so I hope you’ll be along soon to sample.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    355
    178
    74
    33
See reviews for
78
534
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Had a wow room (3605) I think! The biggest bed in Edinburgh! Really lovely location. Great staff. The one let down was no bacon at breakfast due to the fact that pork is not eaten by the owners! Beef sausages were average! Reception mentioned that the website mentions the pork thing, but I read it and re-read it and couldn't see that! Not that I would look for that on a hotel website! Also the light sensors in the bathroom don't clock when you are in the shower and you end up showering in the dark! All in all a good stay though and would definately splurge on the suite - having seen friends double room!

Room Tip: Splurge for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Shazfern,
Many thanks for your review. I’m sorry you found the lack of pork on our breakfast menu to be a let-down; the majority of guests do not see this as a negative as we have such a fantastic selection of hot and cold food available. I have addressed the issue with the sensor in the bathroom. Otherwise, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed in a suite with my wife. We couldn't have chosen a better place to our visit in Edinburgh: excellent staff, helping to carry our luggage to our room, fabulous breakfast, nice and huge room, with fireplace, shower and bath facilities. Our room had huge windows with a fantastic view, even in the toilet! Whenever I'm in Edinburgh again, I will try to stay in The Place again... It name has changed into a synonym of excellence when we are comparing other hotels... "Ok, it's good, but it is not The Place".

Room Tip: if you are planning to visit Edinburgh during holidays, just make sure to book accommodation in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mauro M,
Many thanks for your review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown on Spey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had 2 well appointed suites last weekend one overlooking the front of the hotel and one the back. The views were just incredible. Our suite at the back had 1 huge bed in and 1 kingsize and the whole room was just enormous :) Plenty of storage space, 2 different seating areas, a dressing table area, flat screen tv and the bathroom, OMG the bathroom, I need one like this at home. Powerful large shower, free standing deep bath, lovely toiletries.

We didnt eat at the hotel but we did use the cocktail bar facilities. Very reasonably priced for a city centre hotel, comfortable with excellent friendly service.

We can't wait to return. Thanks to all the staff for a great weekend away with visiting relatives from down south.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie-Fenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Katie-Fenton,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saddleworth
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend in Edinburgh at the end of January, helped along by our stay at this super hotel. All staff were helpful and friendly. Facilities were top notch. Our room while being a little on the snug side was well appointed, spotless and warm enough to banish the Winter cold outside. Will be recommending to friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saddleworthtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear saddleworthtraveller,
Thank you for posting a review. I’m delighted the birthday celebrations were a success and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just recently stayed for a 4 night break. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel very comfortable and bed really comfy and room very spacious and clean. Excellent location for all attractionds and shopping areas. Local transport easily accessible . Looking forward to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mable F,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were delighted to find such a reasonably priced and well run hotel in the heart of the city. It is well appointed and from out room we could see the sea. Best of all, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gillian100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Gillian100,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34 - 38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing