We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to be”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food! Although we were early, allowed entry to our room and on leaving, our cases were kept till train time. Our second visit and we will be back. Well done The Place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Elizabeth T,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd stay.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were in Edinburgh for an evening show at the nearby Playhouse theatre and pre-booked The Place due to it's proximity (and after consulting Trip Advisor!). First thing to note is that there is no parking at the hotel but we did pre-book an overnight parking space that is leased by the hotel at the shopping centre just a few minutes away. Our first helpful staff member was Antoine who jumped in the car & directed us to the parking and escorted us back to reception. Next encounter was with Ciara who deserves five stars all to herself. What a fantastic front of house representative for the hotel; bubbly, friendly, helpful and efficient. She was most apologetic that due to a slight mix up we could not have the room that we booked but we would still have very nice room and breakfast and the parking charge would be compliments of the hotel. We needn't have worried - the room was immaculate and very well equipped (first time I have been in a hotel room with what looked like a 47+" tv) the shower was big enough for 2 people :-). We were on the top floor and us such had an unrivalled view across Edinburgh - we could even see the Forth bridges. Second note - due to the Georgian legacy there is no lift (elevator) so unfortunately there is limited disabled access; this did not affect us but it will be pertinent to some customers.
We went off to our show & returned to the hotel's champagne bar for a night cap or two. This was almost an entertainment in its own with yet another friendly & chatty member of staff in the form of Billy the Barman. He and I spent a hilarious time teaching some Russian guests how to drink whisky - 3rd note to our Russian friend - do not down it in one - it's not vodka! :-)

After a quiet & comfortable night we headed down for breakfast. Again, more friendly, smiling & helpful staff greeted us. We opted for the full Scottish breakfast which arrived very quickly was piping hot and cooked to perfection. The presentation was faultless and given this I could believe that all meals would be of the same quality.

Could not fault this hotel at all & we'll be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: lower floors are not so much of a climb but the top floor view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizard_of_odds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Wizard_of_odds,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. The team here take great pride in delivering first class service, so it's nice to see so many of them mentioned in your review. Ciara, Antoine and Billy send their regards. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from a short stay at the place over easter. Had a great stay, we had really early flights and arrived in Edinburgh before 9am and was luckily allowed to leave our bags at the hotel. And the receptionist kindly had our bags taken to our rooms ready for when we returned later that day. To be fair all the staff i had any interaction with were really friendly and helpful. This hotel is also in a great location and you are minutes away from all the action. The rooms were quite quirky which in my opinion added character to them. I would 100% recommend this hotel for a stay in Edinburgh

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear gc1982,
Many thanks for posting a review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Partner and I have just had a one night stay at The Place. Would highly recommend this hotel. This hotel is centrally placed, the Playhouse is just down the road and just up the road is the main strip i.e. Princess Street, St Andrew's Square, Rose Street etc. There is plenty of staff at this hotel and they are all very polite and I cannot praise them enough for their kind words (I wasn't very well) and attentiveness. The hotel is clean, bright and the rooms are huge and very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear murphyscot,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sorry to hear you weren't feeling well when you stayed and I hope you were still able to take in some of the local sights. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've taken a group of 25 people twice to Edinburgh and have stayed at The Place both times. We were delighted with the friendliness and overwhelming accommodation of the staff! These delightful people went above and beyond in their picking up LOTS of luggage from the bus, taking it to the lounge, patiently distributing the room keys, and carrying all of the participants' luggage to their respective rooms. The hotel's restaurant was excellent: relaxed atmosphere and excellent food quality. The managers worked closely with us on dinner menus for our group, taking into careful consideration various dietary needs and wishes, and ensuring that we were satisfied with the food quality and presentation. We were offered lovely varied menus, indeed something for everyone. The food service staff were friendly and competent, eagerly catering to special wishes and needs. We were able to use part of the restaurant area for our private presentations, and the management was here again outstanding in assisting us with our technical needs. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Edinburgh, a close walk to the Royal Mile, shopping, restaurants, bus station, train station, numerous bus lines, and with a breathtaking view over the city all the way to Leith and the Firth of Forth. We, as the two leaders of these groups, have also lodged The Place during each of our trips to Edinburgh and were equally delighted with our stay every time. An upcoming bonus is that the end station of the new tram line (to and from Edinburgh Airport) is York Place! We and our groups will definitely stay at The Place again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Janet B,
Thank you for your review. We do love having you and your groups here and it’s nice to see that you’re all still as happy with us as we are with you. I think the staff are still working their way through the chocolates you left :-) We very much look forward to your next visit. Take care until then.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. We got a great deal for a Suite which was, as we were told by staff, the best room in the hotel. The hotel is small but so cozy and staff are really friendly and helpful. The bar area is great with excellent decor. Our suite was lovely. The biggest bed in the UK - about the size of a super king plus a double. The room has great tall windows with brilliant view all the way to the bay. Victorian style high ceiling nafe room spacious. Sofa not so comfortable but bed was so opted to sit on that. Disapointed no bath in the bathroom. Tbis would have been a great finishing touch to the room. But can see space would be an issue for where bath would actually go. Best part about this hotel was the location. Only 5 min walk to Princes St. Great price (deal). Great location. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Englishtraveller1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was in a fabulous location, only a short walk from Waverley station and there were plenty of bus stops nearby running frequent services. At the bottom of the street there was a small complex with a 'Vue' cinema and various restaurants where we could have anything from pub food to Tapas to Italian, as well as a small Tesco down the road for any other supplies needed!

The staff were very friendly and check-in was quick and fuss-free. At the time of booking, we had booked a 'city room' which we were told were mostly on ground level or below. However, when making special requests we asked for a higher floor room if possible and the hotel were very accommodating; we were placed on the third floor!

Overall, the hotel was exceptionally good value for money. Our room was rather small although all that was needed for a one-night stay. The shower was very good and all facilities were spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Kayleigh B,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back on your next visit.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,245 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
367 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing