We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed two nights, had nice big room nicely decorated and very clean. The only thing we were dissapointed with was the breakfast expected traditional fresh cooked breakfast however it was help your self from hot dishes, scrambled egg not cooked enough no mushrooms or tomatoes and had to ask for brown bread. However, saying this the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was excellent so would still return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Maureen M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    355
    178
    74
    33
See reviews for
78
534
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean, nicely decorated and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were well-appointed. The only warning I would give is that we paid for a slightly larger room, only to discover that even these rooms were pretty small. Apparently we had upgraded from a city double, which were even smaller, to a standard double. We enjoyed our stay though and would use the hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Vickitay,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for two nights, had a great room, spotless. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and hot dishes were constantly replenished. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and the location is ideal for shopping, eating and transport links. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alilou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear alilou3,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I arrived at 9am (on an early flight). Although my room wasn't available they looked after my bag, gave me wifi access and a coffee. My room was a single and had a great view out of the front of the hotel - traffic noise was not a problem. Breakfast was varied and high quality - many things were available if required - haggis, kippers, etc.

The hotel is opposite the last tram stop on the route from the airport which was very convenient and easy to find. The railway station is 5/10 minutes walk.

I unknolingly dropped my toothbrush on my way out and one of the staff caught up with me outside to hand it to me which was very kind of them and typical of all the staff I met.

Room Tip: If travelling from the airport, use the tram. It's £5 and the hotel is opposite the last stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barco22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Barco22,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Got a good deal on this hotel through Trivago. Excellent location if you are getting the tram from the airport. Also only about a 5 minute walk from Princess Street. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Only negative thing I would say was room was very hot and faced onto the street so hard to get to sleep at night with noise. Having said that I would stay at this hotel again given the location and value for money

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel so if you're not good with stairs ask for a room close to ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Orla M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked this at the last moment at a great price for just one night in early June. It was easy to find, with close parking nearby if you have a car, and well located for shopping and restaurants etc. The guy who checked me in was extremely helpful and nice, and explained all the features of the hotel, something which is often lacking - I'd commend him personally, but didn't get his name.

Room was a bit small, but adequate with modern furnishings, and in comparison to what you get for your money elsewhere in the UK, is reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ryanbryan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at The Place for one night before leaving to the airport the next morning. The location was very central and a perfect location to many of the sites of Edinburgh. We ended up being upgraded to a larger room which was very spacious and very nice. This may be because we were there during the off season but regardless of why, it was a great and much appreciated surprise. The bathroom is a little smaller than the other hotels we had stayed in while in Scotland, but that is not an issue as I wasn’t planning on spending much time in there so that is never a deal breaker.

The staff is amazing and so friendly. Every staff member we ran into was helpful, cheery, and pleasant to work with. At 1:00am I was having problems with my lap top and needed help with some flight information for the next morning and the gentleman at the front desk went beyond what most would do at that hour to help me with everything.

The room was trendy and comfortable with well placed neon lights and was very clean with nice free toiletries. The beds were the most comfortable that we ran into while in Scotland. I wish we had stayed a few extra nights at The Place as it was a really great experience.

There are only two drawbacks that might affect some people. There are no elevators so be prepared to work your arm muscles and legs on the climb up. We were on one of the upper floors so it was quite the hike, but not really a big deal and I welcome exercise where I can get it, but if you are not as nimble, this may be a problem. Also, parts of the hotel face a busy street and the drunks leaving the pub at 3:00am woke me up with a joyous rendition of a traditional Scottish folksong. This went on for a good 10-15 minutes. That is in no way the hotel’s fault but if you are a light sleeper like I am, you may want to request a quiet room.

Room Tip: *Request a quiet room if you are a light sleeper as street noise can be an issue. *No elevator so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousBinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear CuriousBinky,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#98 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34 - 38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing