We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #110 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is great and we enjoyed the central location on York Place. Or main complaint was with the Morton sensor in the bathroom: there is no "switch" option so when the sensor can't see you in the shower and the lights turn off, you get to wave your hands like a maniac to turn them back on. Breakfast was expensive but pretty good. Close walk to The Basement and Asti, two great restaurants. We were upgraded to a huge suite which was very nice. Of go back again, especially with a deal/coupon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Floridian32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Reviwer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    368
    187
    74
    37
See reviews for
80
552
62
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taby, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had room 3811 which is one of the "cozy city double". You go many stairs down below the foyer level to reach the room. It is very small and has only a roof window, and makes a somewhat claustrophobic first impression. We tried to change the room, but there was no reasonable alternative, so we stayed. The room was, in fact, clean, fresh, light, functional and really cozy. The roof window was operated by a remote control and you could open it and control its blind. But the view was less than perfect. As the roof window hints, these rooms are not in the basement but rather in a low annex behind the main building.
The bed was comfortable. There was a kettle in the room but no safe nor minibar. The flat TV offered around 20 channels, all English, and no film channel.
The bathroom was nicely decorated and clean, but small. There was only one hook to hang the clothes and the towels, and there was hardly any room for the toiletries we brought with us.
WiFi was strong and stable in our room, but sometimes slow. A WiFi access code, which you get from the reception, is valid 24h. If you are staying longer, you will need several codes.
The breakfast consisted of a small buffet and a selection of warm dishes, very appreciated by the British guests. If you have a more continental taste you may opt for breakfast at the Greggs, 100m away at the Broughton St., where you get a ham-and-cheese baguette and a drink at a very competitive price.
The staff was friendly and the cleaning was very good.
The location is central and the main tourist attractions are within a walking distance. The tram to the airport has its terminus in front of the hotel, and there is a bus stop nearby, serving many bus lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist_from_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ideal location for exploring the city. Tram runs right outside the front door. Staff were all very helpful, we even got upgraded to a bigger room. Room was more than adequate for our short stay, with toiletries, tea/coffee, iron, hairdryer etc. Only real downside was that it had been a very warm day and the room was boiling, the windows wouldnt stay open on their own so had to use a rolled up towel to get a breeze through. Breakfast was ok, nothing flash.

Room Tip: No lifts so if you have problems with stairs ask for low floor. Front rooms can be noisy with the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Gemma J,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I'm halfway through my three night stay at "The Place", which as a lot going for it, but may not quite meet expectations.
The "pros": It's in a great position on York Place on the city fringe. It's at the end of the new tram line that runs directly from Edinburgh airport. EVERY member of staff is a gem - they all do everything and are all eager to help. The hotel is charming, being spread over three Georgian Townhouses. My room has a great view over the Firth of Forth.
The "cons": The hotel website is honest in acknowledging that there is no lift, because the building is "listed" and they cannot instal one. However, the number of stairs to climb may be significant for some people. Reception is on level 2 (directly off the street). My room is on level 3, but I have to negotiate 24 stairs to get here. There is another level above me, which would require, presumably, a 48 stair climb.
It remains a fairly "basic" hotel, e.g. there is no laundry service and one has to take items down to a laundrette, which offers only a 24 hour service.
The rooms, while adequate, have a few flaws, e.g. a moderately overweight person may have difficulty entering/exiting the shower, because the door is VERY narrow.
The "dining room" (I cannot call it a restaurant) is adequate, but if you're wanting to have an intimate "diner a deux", then forget it...... the dining room is also a passageway between two of the three townhouses. Menu is strictly limited, but food quality and service both excellent.
Would I come back? Frankly I don't know. Probably not, because I need the additional services that are not provided and I do have some difficulty with so many stairs.
It's the staff who make "The Place" bearable. You would not find better anywhere.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with as few stairs as possible. Those facing the Firth are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StayalotNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
Dear StayalotNewcastle,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that certain aspects of The Place were not to your liking, but much of it goes with the nature of the building and we are not able (nor do we wish) to change as these form much of the character of the building. I'm pleased you were so impressed with the team here and the excellent service they deliver.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean Hotel and nice staff but:
We booked a standard double room for $300 a night and got a tiny 10' x 10' room with a different classification because they were all booked. This was for two nights.
No elevators, breakfast not included, not close to old part of town. The excellent ratings on this site are a bit misleading.
I posted a video on youtube under the Hotel name.

Room Tip: This was booked thru Bookings.com. Next time I am calling the Hotel direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmacist1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
Dear pharmacist1952,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. It's a shame you didn't discuss any of your concerns with us whilst you were here as we would have gladly helped! Should you wish to discuss your stay with me, please contact me directly at the hotel.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel very clean BUT room on lower floor very small no Windows just a skylight very hot open skylight very noisey all night Restaurant good great location for play house 15 min walk to royal mile plenty of bar's and Restaurant near and New tram link out side hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear yell70,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sorry you found your room to be on the small side - our City rooms are designed and described as exactly that. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return and perhaps try one of our larger rooms, if extra space is desirable to you. Glad you enjoyed your stay though and hopefully we'll see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed two nights, had nice big room nicely decorated and very clean. The only thing we were dissapointed with was the breakfast expected traditional fresh cooked breakfast however it was help your self from hot dishes, scrambled egg not cooked enough no mushrooms or tomatoes and had to ask for brown bread. However, saying this the staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was excellent so would still return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Maureen M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 149 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 149 in Edinburgh
514 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#65 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing