We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish Hotel and Great Location for the Airport Tramway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Istanbul
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel and Great Location for the Airport Tramway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel was the staff. They were very helpful and friendly.

Another great aspect is that it is a quarter block from the new tramway that goes out to the airport. It runs about every 10 minutes starting at 5:30 in the morning. The bus station is also close, and Waverly train station is within walking distance. Rose Street (great pub crawl) and Market Street (great shopping) are about 5 blocks away. The neighborhood has interesting pubs and restaurants, and is quite walk able.

This is a very stylish hotel. Everything was new, modern, stylish and updated but still had some historic character. Out of an 18 day trip in the UK it had the best bathroom. It was large, nicely tiled, clean and with good bath products. The room was a typically UK sized room but it was not cramped like many are. We were put in a below ground room that had a large window that let in light, but did not have a view of any kind. I have allergies and asthma so I was concerned. However the room was so clean I didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantm04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Grantm04,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    355
    178
    74
    33
See reviews for
78
534
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

first of all when we picked this hotel the picture on line was not what we had got, we seen that it had a lovley bath which we did not get, at first glance the room was fine until when lookin up close the room had'nt been cleaned up to a standard of well clean, what looked to b coffee stains on wall, skirtings were dirty but marks were easily moved with face wipe,shower was in bad need of grouting and didnt look very clean, when in a shower the water wouldnt go down the drain and was blocked, did eventully go down after being out of the shower, there was no welcome pack or menu for the restaurant down the stairs which i think is nice to perhaps know the history of the hotel, we had stayed for two nites and instead of putting clean cups and clean bedding it was left and the blanket had a dirty mark on it and on the morning we left at 5am an alarm was going off outside which would be fine if we could get the window to close which it did not, the window was held together with screws, on check out i informed reception but to be perfectly honest they did not care and said sorry as we handed over our money to pay, will not be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 30 January 2015
Dear missbk79,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. I checked with the Reception team and Duty Manager and there is no record of you having commented/complained. Had I been made aware of these issues upon check-in or during your stay, I would, of course, have been happy to assist in moving you to another room and/or attending to the niggles in your room. Should you wish to discuss your stay, I'd be happy for you to contact me directly.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel that could accommodate 4 * twin rooms and we stumbled upon The Place by accident. What a stroke of luck.

We pre-booked secure parking and upon arrival the porter very kindly jumped in the car with us and guided us to the car park (we'd never of found it!). Check in was a breeze and the rooms were huge and spacious. We had a great view of the Firth from our room, with the room itself very clean. My only complaint would be that the bathroom was a little dark, not helped by one of the bulbs being out.

The breakfast wasn't too great so on the second day we opted to go to the Omni Centre across the road and enjoy a Frankie & Bennys breakfast....excellent!

The bar in the hotel is super sleek and modern with plenty of selection of drinks.

The hotel location is ideal for George Street, Princes St, etc... with lots of other attraction nearby.

So, for the price, we really couldn't fault the hotel and it'll definitely be our first port of call the next time Tough Mudder is in Edinburgh!

Room Tip: A view over the Firth, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruddoug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ruddoug09,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Location wise it's great.

It's a good hotel, we were upgraded on arrival. The bed was massive. The room was massive. However, bed was a little uncomfortable, breakfast is ordinary, the bathroom light works off a sensor, so if you are in the bathroom and don't move, then it's darkness.

The hotel was doing some works while we were there, so we had a bit of noise one morning.

But overall, it's quite a nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank deano18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear deano18,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was very very good. The location is perfect (and near to the tramway which cross the city and go to the airport).
That was clean in the room and in the bar/breakfast section.
The only (very) little weak point was the cost of the breakfast.

We will return soon in this hotel to see other thing in this great city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicSchrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear NicSchrein,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed overnight in one of the single rooms. Had everything I needed for the night. Bed was comfy. Unfortunately my room looked out onto York Place and the street got quite noisy from early on, so was awoken by that.

The location is handy and easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear weeyin83,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Place is by far the best of the four hotels I've stayed in so far in Edinburgh. On arrival we were upgraded from a standard twin to a room with two king beds, which was fantastic. The room was huge with a great view over the new town to the Forth. It was clean, comfortable and cosy with an excellent bathroom. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and happily stored my pack for a few hours after checkout. The location is perfect, just behind Princes St and close to everything, there's a nice restaurant and bar, and the price was reasonable. Definitely my #1 choice next time I'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipper666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear dipper666,,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#96 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34 - 38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing