We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub!”
Review of Bert's Bar - CLOSED

Bert's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Bert's Bar Edinburgh is famed for its real ales which all meet the high Cask Marque standard of approval - which means we pour the perfect pint every time!However it is not just all about the beer! We enjoy a great reputation for not only serving fantastic pub food to a mix of customers but also serving everyone with a smile... no matter how busy we are! We provide substantial Scottish pub food for unsubstantial prices.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

While in Edinburgh last month, our guide Craig Flynn suggested Bert's Bar. Great staff, great atmosphere, great food! Yummy pies!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank voirglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBerts, General Manager at Bert's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi,

I just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you pop in on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Regards

Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

130% all round for Berts Bar great selection of crisp ales and largers top service from Stuart the barman as for the chef great tucker he cooked up.. I'll definitely go back I give it 5 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBerts, General Manager at Bert's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! Stu and the Team are delighted and look forward to seeing you again!

Team Bert's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Popped in for quick tea and ordered fish and chips. Must admit I should have asked what the 'fish' was as it was certainly not the traditional haddock or cod one would expect in Scotland and whatever it was was a bit sloppy and a very small portion.
And the 'chips' were actually potato wedges!
Wee bit disappointing but beer and staff nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 120GrantA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBerts, General Manager at Bert's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi There

I'm sorry that you were disappointing with your meal. The fish currently is not Haddock but we are looking at suppliers for our new menu coming in September so i have taken your comments on board and are looking into it.
The chips are actually hand-cut rooster potatoes, which we changed from the frozen chips we were originally offering, this had not been changed on the menu at the time of your visit.

I do however hope that you are not put off and come back to visit us at Bert's Bar!

Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We visited yesterday after a friends recommendation, we were not disappointed! We sat down and a friendly chap came and took our food and drinks order. I ordered the steak pie and my partner the chicken fajitas and they were gorgeous!
The pub filled up very quickly but it was a great friendly atmosphere.
Highly recommend this little gem of a place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBerts, General Manager at Bert's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi There,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us at Bert's Bart! we can only hope that you pass on your thoughts to more of your friends so this little gem can be introduced to the world!

Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Traditionally a savoury pie is best served with mash and gravy, however, during the summer months when lighter portions may be required, salad is the ideal accompaniment. Staff were happy to oblige. Sometimes there's nothing tastier than a legendary Bert's Pie.

1  Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBerts, Manager at Bert's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi There, Thank you for your kind review. The Team here at Bert's do our best to accommodate our customers! we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bert's Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing