We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place for drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Standing Order

The Standing Order
Ranked #346 of 2,448 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: New Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Place for drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good choice for late evening drink. The service is really good and the design of the place is very pleasant and relaxed, though it can get a bit crazy on sport nights.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaFAldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    415
    159
    50
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Basic Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I alwAys enjoy a visit here when I come to Edinburgh. Good honest to goodness food, nicely cooked and decent sized portions. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mab950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haxey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW what a Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

we came here for breakfast. We ordered the biggest scottish breakfast and it was fantastic, the works including black pudding. Calling here for brekkie is a must

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haxeyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely to visit The Standing Order in Edinburgh for a wee aperitif after a lovely stroll round edinburgh on a lovely warm day. Lovely courteous staff, bret venue with lots of architecture a must see place to. Is it whist visiting edinburgh and across the roads from lovely shops.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sritchie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here and was really surprised by the quality and cost . Husband had the large Scottish and cleared his plate . I had the porridge either honey and banana it was delicious . 2 coffees all fir under £10 marvellous . We will definitely have breakfast here next time we are in Edinburgh

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Windsorgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Standing Order also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Standing Order? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing