We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ballantrae Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$613
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
93
178
131
82
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
178
131
82
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold meatsthe main hoteltram stoptea and coffeemodern bathroomprincess streetrose streetwest endcentral locationfew minutes walkshort breakcity breakbeautiful citywaverley stationyogurtroyal mileiron
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were lucky to get a room as it was the first week in the edinburgh festival. All other hotels with availability were extortionate. To be honest we were cautiously apprehensive, however we were thoroughly delighted with both the room and the service. We stayed in a superior double (no 27) and can honestly say we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very disappointed in the condition of this hotel after seeing the website pictures - nothing like reality. There seems to have been an attempt to refurbish, but it falls far short of what is shown on line. Old beds, dirty net curtains, stained wallpaper, cracked sink, old fashioned furniture .....I felt sorry for the tourists who had likely paid top price to stay there. Breakfast was ok, but not presented professionally at all. We had a comfortable night, but I grudged the price. Needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to scratch - cashing in on its location. The other reviews seem to indicate that there are some better rooms, but this needs to be made clear. Oh, and the stairs; the hotel is all on the vertical with no lift.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - or make a stance for a room shown on the website!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDB050558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were first given a room literally below street level with the window looking up to the street and at the garbage cans. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. It felt creepy and like a dungeon. We ask to move and were then given a room 66 steps up. Great view, but no air conditioning either. We later found out from taxi drivers that the building is considered an historical building and so no elevators are allowed. This is not on their web site.
Love older buildings, but this one felt unkept and we felt the value was not good as the price was not inexpensive. The Open was this week so rooms were scarce. We would have moved. The staff were very helpful and friendly, but be aware there are many other places to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amgardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night right at the start of our 15 day road trip through Scotland and found it very well situated to visit Edinburgh. We were staying in one of the top floor rooms - 4/5/6 flights of stairs up... almost died! Breakfast made up for it though!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen_Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Not sure why it has low reviews....Absolutely fantatistic hotel, we had the super quad room and it was good for like 8 ppl. Compared to a typical European hotel room, the bathroom is huge and so are the rooms. Breakfast was included in the cost so super plus plus. Staff was great and helpful. Special thanks to Alex D, was an absolute gem of a host and made sure we had an awesome time!!. its like literally 10 mins walk from the Waverly train station. Lot of restaurant in walking distance. About 15-20 min walk from the royal mile. Would absolute stay here again on my future visit.

Room Tip: ask for room in the new building. They have hotel rooms in two buildings, the adjoining building seems to be refurbished
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vj1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews