We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, no lift and shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ballantrae Hotel
Ranked #131 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I arrived at this hotel with 3 family members aged 86,76 and 75. All had mobilty issues. I booked through Bookings.com but there was no indication that there was no lift. Guess what ? We were at the top, three long flights up !. I nearly turned tail and ran : decor was shabby and the staff could not give us alternative rooms. There was a better decorated part of the hotel next door but not accessible unless you had upgraded rooms. I managed to get one of these on the last night at a cost of £184 but for that it had no air conditioning but a huge window which took two of us to open - the man on reception at the time was not very helpful when I explained I could not open it and we ended up doing it ourselves. As it was the Fringe Festival there was nowhere else to go so we stayed but I was mortified each day ( as I had booked it) to see my fellow travellors struggle up and down the stairs. The overworked staff were as helpful as they could be bar the one exception and the beds were comfortable but overall I felt as if I was in student accommodation when in the public parts and there was no cooked breakfast. I would stay here again if it was much, much cheaper as the location was good but not with anyone who didn't like climbing stairs.Finally, theyare digging up the road outside and start at 7 in the morning so ask for a room at the back of the hotel

Room Tip: Room at the back as digging up road outside. Tell hotel you dont' want to climb stairs if youh...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for The Ballantrae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, very dated, depressing and shabby. The room felt more like a punishment cell. I felt unsafe here.The owner should be investigated for false advertisement. The road works outside are under construction but this was not mentioned at all, even although I had booked well in advance. Horrible place.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel and beware of room 17 in the basement.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed in room 19....in the basement. Behind locked doors were clearly the servers for computers in the property. Constant whirring all night long! No sleep, crap mattress! Clean enough, but very dated room! £59 b&b so got what I paid for.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were lucky enough to find a room in this hotel during the busiest time of the year in Edinburgh - the Fringe Festival. We booked a twin room and were very happy with what we were given. Our room was on the top floor, spacious and beautifully furnished. The view was great too, onto the street and also we could see some of the most amazing buildings in the city. The Hotel is located right in the centre, so train and bus station (from the airport) are just minutes away. It is also very close to the Dome, the Royal Mile, the castle and the Princess Street. I don't think anyone can ask for more location wise. The staff was very professional and flexible. They were very kind and you really felt that they were there to make your stay more pleasant. The breakfast was amazing, the counter was always full of food, even when only 3 yoghurts were missing from the bowl they filled it up and not let it get empty at all. The staff was looking after the more needy guests as well in a very professional manner, even though you could help yourself to the coffee they were more than happy to serve you. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place as it's a great value for money too. We would return anytime.

Room Tip: Room 1, top floor - twin room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrieUk_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were lucky to get a room as it was the first week in the edinburgh festival. All other hotels with availability were extortionate. To be honest we were cautiously apprehensive, however we were thoroughly delighted with both the room and the service. We stayed in a superior double (no 27) and can honestly say we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very disappointed in the condition of this hotel after seeing the website pictures - nothing like reality. There seems to have been an attempt to refurbish, but it falls far short of what is shown on line. Old beds, dirty net curtains, stained wallpaper, cracked sink, old fashioned furniture .....I felt sorry for the tourists who had likely paid top price to stay there. Breakfast was ok, but not presented professionally at all. We had a comfortable night, but I grudged the price. Needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to scratch - cashing in on its location. The other reviews seem to indicate that there are some better rooms, but this needs to be made clear. Oh, and the stairs; the hotel is all on the vertical with no lift.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - or make a stance for a room shown on the website!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDB050558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were first given a room literally below street level with the window looking up to the street and at the garbage cans. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. It felt creepy and like a dungeon. We ask to move and were then given a room 66 steps up. Great view, but no air conditioning either. We later found out from taxi drivers that the building is considered an historical building and so no elevators are allowed. This is not on their web site.
Love older buildings, but this one felt unkept and we felt the value was not good as the price was not inexpensive. The Open was this week so rooms were scarce. We would have moved. The staff were very helpful and friendly, but be aware there are many other places to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amgardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
788 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#90 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing