We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite casual lunch venue...”
Review of Hectors

Hectors
Ranked #603 of 2,774 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Description: At the heart of Edinburgh's trendy Stockbridge, Hector's is an eclectic mix of upbeat city pub and warm, friendly village local. With big tables and an even bigger drinks list, it's the ideal destination for a laidback catch up with your mates. With weary feet from shopping or after a hectic day at work.
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Spent a couple of delightful hours enjoying tasty lunch dishes in a relaxed and convivial environment. The bar was a little cold at first but it soon warmed up when folk started to populate the dining areas and food was being served.
Food delicious, nice choices well prepared, and served by a lovely friendly waitress from London who made us very welcome.
This was our second lunchtime visit, and we will be sure to return again very soon, thanks Hector!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Hectors, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Jayne,

Thanks so much for your fantastic review. I've pass your kind comments on to your waitress Asten, who was delighted about the feedback. We hope we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards
Tom & the Hectors team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Visited this place a few times, always great service and food. Staff very welcoming and it is dog friendly.Good selection of drinks at a reasonable price.

Thank mdavidson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We've popped into Hectors a couple of times recently, having walked up the Water of Leith to Stockbridge from where we live on The Shore, and it's been lovely both times. They've a great selection of beers you can't always find elsewhere, and the wine I had was delicious too.

We were pretty hungry after our walk so ordered a portion of chips and a portion of sweet potato fries between us - both arrived really quickly, were fresh and crispy, and were generously portioned.

We've no doubt we'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Hectors, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Kathryn,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit & we hope we'll see you again soon.

Tom & the Hectors team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This place is the centre of Stockbridge, a chilled, fun, fabulous bar. The atmosphere is always great, it's a nice size with comfy seats. It's equally welcoming to locals and visitors, there's always fun to be had. Dog friendly too! Food is great, be it burger Weds, a delicious Sunday roast or just a cheeseboard I could eat for all three courses-it's all highly recommended. Special shout out to the staff who totally make this place and are the reason I'll keep going back, Townie, Ashton, Chris & all the team who go above and beyond to make every customer have a fabulous time. This place is one not to miss

Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Hectors, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Sarah,

Thanks so much for the fantastic review, we always love to hear what our guest thing, and it's especially nice to read such fantastic feedback on the team. We have a team meeting on Thursday & I'll be sure to pass your gratitude to the team.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Tom & the Hectors team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for 4 here and had a very good meal in a very friendly atmosphere, we had mains of chicken, sirloin , sausage and fish and all were very good and served by friendly waiting staff.
We also had one of each of the 4 desserts on the menu, all reasonably priced.
Well worth a visit , I’d certainly return.

Thank bordermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Hectors, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Bordermax,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere during your recent visit. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Tom & the Hectors Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hectors also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hectors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing