We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to have a break”

Starbucks 106 George Street
Ranked #138 of 148 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: New Town
Salzburg, Österreich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice to have a break”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

when the girls went shopping I took a break at this coffeee shop. It is perfect near to Princesss street in the Georg street. Calm and friendly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreas870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We were tempted into starbucks with a sample outside. Server at till was polite, friendly and knowledgeable. Offering me the Christmas blend which I accepted. Unfortunately it got worse from there. A queue of 6 waiting in front of me. Only 1 person making coffee. He was preoccupied talking to his team members than making coffee. If he focused on the coffee and chat with his waiting customers the wait would have seemed less. Also the egg nog latte was just lukewarm. They always get that wrong. I know there is a temperature issue with the eggnog mix but they need to work on this.

Pet peeve- too many cheap student types using their laptops with the wifi. Hogging the chairs and sipping their one drink for a couple of hours. This was our 2nd starbucks we were at. Walked out of first as no chairs due to laptop users.

Helpful?
Thank globaltrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I've been to many Starbucks so when I saw this one expected it to be of the same standard as the rest. Unfortunately this was not the case. There was one member of staff serving the queue, 2 others behind the counter and one filling up stock. Queue was out the door. A queue walker appeared to take coffee orders to speed it up however when you ordered at the till the server was unaware the order had been taken. In my case my tea was left sitting for some time before I got to it. Staff also couldn't decide who was heating up sandwiches and then started handing over the wrong ones. Tables and milk stand were not clean and disappointing to see staff walking past this. On the positive my steak panini and raspberry muffin was really nice. There are cleay some staff training issues to be addressed. Will not rush back to this particular outlet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smitgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,491 reviews
426 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,281 helpful votes
“Nice and modest coffee shop.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Small and modest cafe not far from the historic center of the city.
It gave me a nice feeling of warmth and hospitality this place and for this reason I keep a good memory.
Apart from this the service I thought it was good as was the average Starbucks coffee, I do not think it's the best coffee in town but it certainly is one of the best cafes.
It is not open until late.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Starbucks in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

By far the pick of the bunch in Edinburgh for service and overall customer satisfaction!
Can't go wrong, stay away from the princes street hussle and bussle and make your way around the corner to have a better experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starbucks 106 George Street also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Starbucks 106 George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing