We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous atmosphere”
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Ranked #51 of 229 Quick Bites in Edinburgh
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: A warm traditional Scottish pub set in the beating heart of Edinburgh. The Black Bull on the Grassmarket is the perfect place to grab a drink, a bite to eat, watch the sport or sit outside and simply watch the world go by. Our friendly and attentive staff will guide you through our extensive whiskey range or suggest one of our many craft beers. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome soon.
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Visited as we noticed Graeme E Pearson was playing and had seen him a few years before, we only had some starters between us all as had ate earlier, but they were delicious, great friendly staff, nice pub, music started about 9pm and Graeme had the whole pub singing and dancing along, and created a great hoolie of an atmosphere with all different nationalitys dancing together. Would visit again but especially if Graeme E Pearson was also playing .... we weren't the only group that came because he was playing there was a large group across from us who came to Black Bull for Graeme music.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Someonesmumx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2019

Lovely pub in the Grassmarket area, was away with my husband and this became our 'go to' spot in the evenings. Lively atmosphere and great staff, shows all sport events so hubby was happy!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ann962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackbullgrassmarket, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi Ann,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're always so happy and appreciative when our visitor take the time to tell us about how enjoyable their experience was.

We hope you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Edinburgh.

Many Thanks,

Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

Was not expecting a lot from this pub when we called in for an evening meal. The whole place looks neglected, however even though it looks a little rough round the edges, the food we had was excellent! The pie with chips and veg was plentiful, hot and tasty, service was fast

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philipfleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackbullgrassmarket, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi Philip,

Thanks alot for the kind words. We are always looking to improve our look and we are glad you came in and enjoyed your visit.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Went in here for some lunch .Very friendly staff ,good food which hit the spot ,will def be back on next visit to Edinburgh

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank davron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackbullgrassmarket, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thanks for the kind words and review. We hope to see you on your next visit to Edinburgh.

Many Thanks,

Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Stopped for a beer at this very welcoming and pleasant pub when out strolling the city on New Year’s Day , whilst we didn’t have anything to eat the food did look very good

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackbullgrassmarket, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Hi David,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.

We hope you had a great New Year and hope youpop in next time you're down our way.

Kind Regards,

Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing