We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always and easy and pleasant lunch. Staff always get a bad review but they have always been pleasant curious and attentive when ”

Valvona & Crolla VinCaffe
Ranked #1,233 of 2,506 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: A concept wine bar and restaurant, the Valvona and Crolla Vincaff�� located next to Edinburgh���s St Andrew���s Square is a must-visit for any foodie in the vicinity. Founded in 1934, Valvona and Crolla has long been at the forefront of the gourmet food movement, a frontrunner in the specialty food market and the go to for a true taste of Italy. Here at the Valvona and Crolla Vincaff��, visitors are offered the opportunity to sample all of the best products on offer from the famed delicatessen and wine merchant in the comfort of a cosy but modern restaurant and bar on the first floor or down in the caff��, with its bustling Milan vibe and own piazza dining space. Quality ingredients are key to the Vincaff�� menu, which is full of Italian charm. Breads are made on site using V&C���s own imported high grade flours, wine all bears the notorious V&C seal of approval and is stored in the cutting edge Cruvinet system and olive oil is all of the brands own Fior���Fiore label.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always and easy and pleasant lunch. Staff always get a bad review but they have always been pleasant curious and attentive when ”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I had a nice lunch with my mum here. We ordered the v&c anti pasti and the scallops to share. All delicious and the staff are so careful to check with the chef about my allergy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EKB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    124
    65
    76
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“It was okay.....”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We ate here on our second evening after going to the Dome on the previous evening. It had been recommended. We were the only diners. We arrived at 7 and left at 8.30. The food was okay but nothing special. No atmosphere - maybe because we were alone! I guess it would be great for lunch/coffee but not diner in January. The staff were friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewforrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolute embarrassment”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Not my first visit to this restaurant but, unexpectedly, this visit was a complete and utter disaster.

We arrived for an early evening, pre-theatre family dinner and celebration. On arrival we were advised that this 'Italian restaurant' was not able to serve any of the pizza's on their menu and that a number of other dishes were not available. This only got worse as dishes that were served were missing a number of ingredients and the service throughout was abysmal. Drink orders were forgotten and the bill was wrong. Quite simply, it could not have been worse.

It pains me to give such a poor rating to an offshoot of an Edinburgh establishment but, on this evidence, they have lost the place. There is no justification for the complete inability to deliver on their promise or to accept bookings from clients and not communicate their inability to provide a basic service. No apology or compensation was offered.

These guys do not deserve your custom. We will be taking ours elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShameaboutBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish I'd read the reviews....”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I can only endorse the review and feelings expressed in the earlier review 'Rude Staff'. The name/reputation (?) is an obvious attraction and the coffee shop looks ok, but turns out to be extremely uncomfortable. The staff were unbelieveably off-hand and entirely interested in themselves and certainly not the customers. As there is a huge choice of similar establishments around, go to somewhere where your custom is appreciated.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarFonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, not cheap. Awesome shop.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Service was friendly, food was tasty, prices weren't cheap but the visit was overall quite enjoyable. The shop downstairs is a spectacle to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseyfraseredin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valvona & Crolla VinCaffe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Valvona & Crolla VinCaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing