We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome facility for adults and kids!!”

Edinburgh International Climbing Arena
Ranked #74 of 399 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Falkirk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome facility for adults and kids!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

As a first timer to the arena we opted to have the Taster sessions with an instructor.

Quite pricey at £21, but totally worth it for novices.

Ian, our instructor was fantastic with all ages and was very patient...

He clocked that I had done a couple of corporate wall climbing sessions which meant he got me to do some slightly harder (yet still novice) climbs. This really added to the experience as the sense of achievement was superb!!

My girls (6&9) and I all absolutely loved it and will definitely be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    41
    8
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend a visit to this place. Great for beginners to experts. Plus there is much more than just the climbing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Markrobertson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“book in advance to avoid disappointment”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

once you find it (some sat navs take you to the quarry next door) your will be amazed. the climbing arena is massive with climbs to suit all experience levels. Climbing is a very family friendly sport but if you don't fancy that there is the aerial assault course for those who wish to test their nerve and a soft play area for the younger children. Together with restaurant, spa, gym, outdor gear shop and ceramic decoration facility you could spend quite a few hours here. If you don't climb yourself you will need to book an instructor slot so phone ahead to avoid disappointment. Soft play can be busy at weekends especially when weather is bad. If climbing bring warm clothing and lots of layers. shoes, harnesses and belays can be hired from the shop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Ratho is a brilliant place i travel though from Glasgow to go as its got some amazing climbs and a friendly atmosphere... only think is it can be quite cold but you heat up quickly climbing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polybagboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Climbing arena”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The climbing arena was a really good experience the kids had a great time. The soft play area was quite small but kids still liked it, but the best was the climbing wall the kids had a fantastic time climbing the walls and the instructor was a very nice and helpful man. There is also a cafe which was reasonably priced and had a great viewing area to watch other climbers go up and down the walls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulofett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edinburgh International Climbing Arena also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh International Climbing Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing