We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad I tried it, but no thank you.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant - CLOSED

Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Glad I tried it, but no thank you.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We found this on a promotion site and decided to try it out. The site asked us to ring to confirm the booking, except the number they gave was not answered, and the alternative number we got off the website turned out to be their computer line! (Who still has a separate line for their computer?) The food was tasty and well cooked, but the place was shabby and in desperate need of some TLC and refurbishment especially to the toilets.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food lovely, restaurant stuffy and kind of shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had a Groupon deal and were looking forward to this meal.
The staff were lovely and the food good .
However the place was very stuffy and got very warm as more people came in to eat. No doors or windows open and in fact one of the staff had a fan heater on !!! After an hour I'd pretty much had enough !!

I had to leave and requested my food to go !!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Varied and interesting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Thought we'd give this a try as we'd never tasted Nepalese cuisine. It was pretty quiet in there on the Sunday night, service was friendly, gentle and quite homely. Between the 4 of us we had a mixed sharing platter of starters and 4 different curries which none of us had had before. Difficult to pick a favourite - they were all good. As we were staying locally, we would have returned the next evening to try more things form the menu, but found they weren't open on a Monday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve the bad rap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently went back to this restaurant having visited a couple of years ago. I was initially put off by the poor reviews it had been receiving recently, but was pleasantly surprised to find that the food was as good as I remembered.

I had the prawn puri for starter and chicken amilo mitho for main course. Both were very tasty. The only exception to the good food was the poor desserts - cheap shop-bought ice-cream taken straight from the freezer. Not much taste and hard as hell!

One negative was the amount of time we had to wait for our food. There were only 3 tables in the restaurant in use but we waited around 45 minutes for our starters. However, once these were finished, the main course did arrive quickly.

Some people mentioned the restaurant does not accept cards. We paid with a credit card and no comment was made.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great taste for a small place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped in when the restaurant we went to was closed. So happy we stopped in here. The food was fantastic. Had the chicken pakura to start and the chicken bhutuwa for the main. Delicious! And the staff was very friendly. We went back a week later and had the same thing it was so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Brigade Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing