We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pub grub - but quality!”
Review of Stable Bar

Stable Bar
Ranked #512 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Traditional pub grub - but quality!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner took me on Saturday as he had not been for years. It had a big roaring fire, whcih iwas very welcoming. The menu was very traditional, and the staff are so very very friendly. I had mince n tatties, which was just as I like it, no frills just good traditional grub. Fish and chips was excellent too. I would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAXYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    77
    33
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Roaring Fire, Excellent Service, Cosy, New Local”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place has been hidden away behind the forest near my house since I was born. Just gutted I didn't discover it before! Just what's needed after a walk around South Edinburgh. Myself and my friends have decided it is now our regular meeting place. Whenever we are all back in Edinburgh, it is a no-brainer where we go.

It has a great homely feel, the food is excellent, good choice of ales and all at a reasonable price!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great at The Gate”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

One of the reasons we regularly return to Mortonhall Caravan Park is the excellent restaurant at Mortonhall Gate. A welcome from Forbes Crawford and the rest of his friendly staff is always provided as you enter into this establishment. A huge log fire heats up the whole dining area in the winter months while an enclosed courtyard has tables for drinks etc for those preferring to enjoy the ambiance outside. A very extensive menu and daily specials are able to satisfy even the most discerning tastes. Good selection of wines, spirits and beers served up by amicable staff. Well behaved dogs are welcome and the overflow dining area can cater for quite a large number of people. We will definitely continue to use this outstanding place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow time warp!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What potential this place has, beautiful grounds and an amazing old stable for the pub, had steak pie which was lovely but frozen veg? Come on now thats not acceptable in this day and age! Menu was straight out of the 70's, Almost a retro pub!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 699Gary699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pub Favourite”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I love the Stable Bar! It's perfect for a cosy pint and food after a long walk. Muddy boots and dogs are welcome. The comfy surroundings and chatty staff make for a great atmosphere. The menu is good value and exactly what you expect. There's always good ales on. It's a busy place so I would book if I was going as group, or at peak times.

I strongly disagree with the negative reviews they've had. I'm a frequent visitor to the Stable Bar and it's great every time.

Watch out for spiders though! ;)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berry45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stable Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stable Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing