We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
7
10
10
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
10
10
9
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The website and info regarding this guest house was inaccurate for our stay.

When finding the guest house- walking along the sea front, we went through the entrance (you couldn't tell if it was the back or front) to find no one answering the door. When we walked round to the other entrance we had to walk into an open door to find the owner to grab his attention who was on the phone at the time-
he got off the phone to greet us but spoke very little english. He then asked if we wanted to pay (booking.com only book your room, you pay when you get there) but we found out the owner had tried to take money from the account before hand.. So we paid then and there while he spoke on the phone again.

We were then shown to our room- we had emailed before hand to ask if we could have a sea view room- to receive no reply,just directions that weren't correct to the guest house.

When we got to our room we found out it wasn't en suite that we'd be sharing the bathroom with 2 other rooms on the same floor. The room wasn't sea view either just a car park and road. On top of that the tv wasn't working and the keys to unlock the door were a mystery. There were two on the key ring..both looked exactly the same and one was for the front door and one was for the room- after trying both and not succeeding to unlock the door we walked up and downstairs twice (which are quite tiring and steep) to sort out the tv and the keys and also find out about the WI-FI - to find the owner on the phone the whole time not really caring. we had already had enough by two hours.

We went out for a walk to the shops which were good near by as was the lovely view of the sea and the walk along the promenade, to get back to relax. Although the tv was on we could hear the other couples around midnight getting back and slamming the doors/ creaking floor boards, going in and out of the toilet- which we could hear loudly. The toilet itself was rocky and not sturdy in the floor.

The cupboard in our room was ridiculous- the door was wobbly but you had to yank it to actually get it open.

In the morning we were woken up by several people using the shower/toilet/doors banging, we didn't go down for breakfast we handed the keys in and we will not be returning. It was more like a £10 hostel than a sea view b&b!

Room Tip: If you want sea view phone and ask for one. Double check your room is en suite. Take ear plugs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was a cheap getaway for shopping.This guest hoouse is on the main bus route (5 minutes walk) and its about 15 minutes to princes street.It was lovely weather and the B & B is on the seafront.
The bed was very comfortable.We had a great time and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Buy a day bus ticket for £3.50 and take the number 26 bus to the centre of Edinburgh.With a day ticket you can go as many times in one day on any of the city buses.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Portbello Guesthouse is a old but very nice guesthouse. Splendid location great breakfast, thanks Annie. Rooms are cozy even streetview is great. Could do with some new paint but in general, price quality is oke. We will come back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a shambles and dump of a place this is!!!!
........ We had booked to stay for 2 nights through Booking.com and had asked for a high floor, sea view en-suite room. (having paid extra for en-suite) Booking.com had communication from Mr Aydin who leases 2 floors of this guest house (the owners live on the 2nd floor and lease 2 floors out to a Mr Aydin) and he said that they had no double en-suite rooms with a sea view. So I responded that any sea view en-suite room would be ok in that case.

On our arrival on the 14th, we were met by an Asian guy who spoke very little English. He showed us to our room, which was on the ground floor, right next to the door, overlooking the back of the property, and we were given no information about anything! On entering the room I was shocked..... Not only was it the size of a single room, but it was an absolute 'dump'!!! The 'en-suite' was a joke....it was just a tatty 'codged-up' loo, washbasin and shower, in a room the size of a cupboard. I initially did not want to stay, but not being people to complain (this is the 1st time in my life that I have ever had cause to complain and I am a senior citizen!) my husband and myself decided to make the most of it. By 6pm on our arrival day the room was very cold , so I went in search of someone to ask about the heating. I found the place totally empty, so I rang an emergency mobile number that was on the back of the door. The Asian guy answered and I asked about the heating...he said that he would put it on. He arrived at the guest house a short time later and did put the heating on.
The Morning after, we went in for breakfast...we weren't asked what we wanted, we were just given bacon and eggs (by the Asian guy) whether we wanted it or not! We then went out for the day. On our return at 5pm we were shocked to find that our room had not been serviced at all!!!!! Luckily we had hung our towels to dry and not left them on the bathroom floor for changing (as is usual in hotels b&b's etc) There was absolutely no-one in the place for me to complain to or ask for more tea bags and milk. At this point I noticed that the smoke alarm in our bedroom was covered over by paper!!!! THIS IS ILLEGAL!!!!!
On the 2nd morning we went in for breakfast and was greeted by Annie who had apparently had been on her day off when we had arrived. She was lovely and very friendly, and I told her of our upset and disgust...initially at being accomodated in a tiny room by the door at the back of the hotel. She was shocked that we had been put in there because we were the ONLY guests in there and could have had any on the double en-suite rooms!!!!!.........She showed us a lovely huge room with sea view that she said she would have put us had she been there when we arrived!!!!! I told her how shocked at the state of the room we had been put in and that it hadn't been serviced....and I also showed her the smoke alarm covered with paper... She rang Mr Aydin to tell him about how we had been treated and asked on our behalf for a refund but he point blank refused. How this lovely lady continues to work under these conditions I have no idea!
We have been touring for the passed 17 days all around Scotland, and are now at our last Hotel before returning home tomorrrow. We have stayed at a total of 6 hotels/B & B's and every single one except The Portobello have been fabulous.
DO NOT STAY HERE,...... I WISH THAT WE HAD JUST WALKED STRAIGHT BACK OUT AGAIN THE MINUTE WE ARRIVED.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. Had to hunt high and low for a B&B with a single room but this one was perfect. The room was small & cozy but had everything I needed, including a sink, kettle and a view right out onto the sea. Breakfast was good and all the staff were very friendly. Portobello has a nice local high street to explore and a good, frequent bus service into the centre of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house have a sea view, whereas the front looks out onto a residential area.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_nodgeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews