We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read this before booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portobello Guest House
Ranked #343 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Please read this before booking”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After 2 nights in Forres in the most beautiful guest house @£70/night we arrived at the Portaloo, sorry, Portabello. From the pictures on booking.com it looked reasonable but as we pulled up outside our hearts sank. It was like arriving at a 1970s tenement block. On entering it got worse. The decor was unchanged for several decades, it smelt dirty and was furnished with what can only be described as charity furniture. The room was tiny with only a sink. It was a shared toilet :( as we were at the top the wifi did not work and the kettle lead was so short that the curtains draped over the kettle next to the plug! The bed was ok and the bedding was clean despite being from the 1960s. Parking was an issue as there was only a tiny forecourt and my car became blocked in by another car. When we wanted to leave in the morning after the minimal (one rasher of bacon, one egg, half a tomato, a small scoop of beans, one coffee) breakfast we had to hunt for the owner of the car. It turned out it was owned by the owner of the B&B who wasn't even out of bed at 930am!!!!! Please spend your £80 on buying a tent instead of staying here. This is THE WORST B&B I have ever stayed in. Please avoid at all costs.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    10
    8
    13
See reviews for
13
18
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Great location especially the beach. Hotel was clean but a little tired in places. We had a ground floor room with en suite which was comfy. Breakfast was good with cereal, juice and a cooked meal. The only problem was lack of choice over what you had on your cooked breakfast as no one asked likes or dislikes. Handy location and transport links to Edinburgh and surrounding area and some nice places to eat on Portobello High Street.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blueannie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivos, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I expected not so much with this hotel.....but....a great nice surprise !!!!!
excellent breakfast !!! excellent tv.....excellet and cordial atention !!!!
to recomend if you dont want to expend much money....and have a great service

Room Tip: ocean view !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The website and info regarding this guest house was inaccurate for our stay.

When finding the guest house- walking along the sea front, we went through the entrance (you couldn't tell if it was the back or front) to find no one answering the door. When we walked round to the other entrance we had to walk into an open door to find the owner to grab his attention who was on the phone at the time-
he got off the phone to greet us but spoke very little english. He then asked if we wanted to pay (booking.com only book your room, you pay when you get there) but we found out the owner had tried to take money from the account before hand.. So we paid then and there while he spoke on the phone again.

We were then shown to our room- we had emailed before hand to ask if we could have a sea view room- to receive no reply,just directions that weren't correct to the guest house.

When we got to our room we found out it wasn't en suite that we'd be sharing the bathroom with 2 other rooms on the same floor. The room wasn't sea view either just a car park and road. On top of that the tv wasn't working and the keys to unlock the door were a mystery. There were two on the key ring..both looked exactly the same and one was for the front door and one was for the room- after trying both and not succeeding to unlock the door we walked up and downstairs twice (which are quite tiring and steep) to sort out the tv and the keys and also find out about the WI-FI - to find the owner on the phone the whole time not really caring. we had already had enough by two hours.

We went out for a walk to the shops which were good near by as was the lovely view of the sea and the walk along the promenade, to get back to relax. Although the tv was on we could hear the other couples around midnight getting back and slamming the doors/ creaking floor boards, going in and out of the toilet- which we could hear loudly. The toilet itself was rocky and not sturdy in the floor.

The cupboard in our room was ridiculous- the door was wobbly but you had to yank it to actually get it open.

In the morning we were woken up by several people using the shower/toilet/doors banging, we didn't go down for breakfast we handed the keys in and we will not be returning. It was more like a £10 hostel than a sea view b&b!

Room Tip: If you want sea view phone and ask for one. Double check your room is en suite. Take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

maghera northern ireland uk
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was a cheap getaway for shopping.This guest hoouse is on the main bus route (5 minutes walk) and its about 15 minutes to princes street.It was lovely weather and the B & B is on the seafront.
The bed was very comfortable.We had a great time and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Buy a day bus ticket for £3.50 and take the number 26 bus to the centre of Edinburgh.With a day tick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderlecht(Brussel)
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Portbello Guesthouse is a old but very nice guesthouse. Splendid location great breakfast, thanks Annie. Rooms are cozy even streetview is great. Could do with some new paint but in general, price quality is oke. We will come back...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a shambles and dump of a place this is!!!!
........ We had booked to stay for 2 nights through Booking.com and had asked for a high floor, sea view en-suite room. (having paid extra for en-suite) Booking.com had communication from Mr Aydin who leases 2 floors of this guest house (the owners live on the 2nd floor and lease 2 floors out to a Mr Aydin) and he said that they had no double en-suite rooms with a sea view. So I responded that any sea view en-suite room would be ok in that case.

On our arrival on the 14th, we were met by an Asian guy who spoke very little English. He showed us to our room, which was on the ground floor, right next to the door, overlooking the back of the property, and we were given no information about anything! On entering the room I was shocked..... Not only was it the size of a single room, but it was an absolute 'dump'!!! The 'en-suite' was a joke....it was just a tatty 'codged-up' loo, washbasin and shower, in a room the size of a cupboard. I initially did not want to stay, but not being people to complain (this is the 1st time in my life that I have ever had cause to complain and I am a senior citizen!) my husband and myself decided to make the most of it. By 6pm on our arrival day the room was very cold , so I went in search of someone to ask about the heating. I found the place totally empty, so I rang an emergency mobile number that was on the back of the door. The Asian guy answered and I asked about the heating...he said that he would put it on. He arrived at the guest house a short time later and did put the heating on.
The Morning after, we went in for breakfast...we weren't asked what we wanted, we were just given bacon and eggs (by the Asian guy) whether we wanted it or not! We then went out for the day. On our return at 5pm we were shocked to find that our room had not been serviced at all!!!!! Luckily we had hung our towels to dry and not left them on the bathroom floor for changing (as is usual in hotels b&b's etc) There was absolutely no-one in the place for me to complain to or ask for more tea bags and milk. At this point I noticed that the smoke alarm in our bedroom was covered over by paper!!!! THIS IS ILLEGAL!!!!!
On the 2nd morning we went in for breakfast and was greeted by Annie who had apparently had been on her day off when we had arrived. She was lovely and very friendly, and I told her of our upset and disgust...initially at being accomodated in a tiny room by the door at the back of the hotel. She was shocked that we had been put in there because we were the ONLY guests in there and could have had any on the double en-suite rooms!!!!!.........She showed us a lovely huge room with sea view that she said she would have put us had she been there when we arrived!!!!! I told her how shocked at the state of the room we had been put in and that it hadn't been serviced....and I also showed her the smoke alarm covered with paper... She rang Mr Aydin to tell him about how we had been treated and asked on our behalf for a refund but he point blank refused. How this lovely lady continues to work under these conditions I have no idea!
We have been touring for the passed 17 days all around Scotland, and are now at our last Hotel before returning home tomorrrow. We have stayed at a total of 6 hotels/B & B's and every single one except The Portobello have been fabulous.
DO NOT STAY HERE,...... I WISH THAT WE HAD JUST WALKED STRAIGHT BACK OUT AGAIN THE MINUTE WE ARRIVED.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Abercorn Guest House
#38 of 392 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockville Hotel
#35 of 205 in Edinburgh
121 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Guest House

Property: Portobello Guest House
Address: 33 Straiton Place | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing