We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable ,clean and friendly guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brig O'Doon Guest House
Ranked #215 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Oviedo,Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable ,clean and friendly guest house.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for 2 days at the Brig O'Doon Guest House. A bus stop is in front of the Guest House so one can conveniently get to sites within the city . It took us only a few minutes to get to the Royal Mile where we then walked to the Edinburgh Castle. Jim, the owner of Brig O'Doon, was very helpful with directions to things we wanted to see. The Guest House was clean ,spacious and comfortable. The only criticism was the shower, the water from the shower would run all over the floor, therefore showers were quick. Breakfast was excellent and served in a comfortable and spacious dinning room.Our family (my wife and I and son and his wife) would return.

Room Tip: Both rooms our family occupied were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunsenBurner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phila. suburbs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The owner, Jim, is friendly, helpful and accommodating. He quickly got us started on getting around the city, then stayed out of the way until we needed him again. Our particular room and bathroom were spacious for a B and B and the room had a nice view of the city.
Two buses run--one just outside the front door, and another down at the corner. (One way trip is one pound 30, exact change only). Easy getting around from here.

Breakfast very hearty, good coffee.

The B&B is on a busy street, so if passing traffic bothers you, ask for a rear room, or find another situation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magister_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed at this B & B for three nights in March 2011. The rooms were very nice. It was affordable. And best of all the bus service stopped right outside the front door. It was just a 10 minute bus ride to the royal mile. Breakfast was perfect for the price. The owners were always friendly and available. I would highly recommend anyone looking to stay in a B & B in Edinburgh to give this great establishment a try.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okctraveler1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

we stayed at brig o doon whilst in edinburgh attending a family party!
our family booked 3 of the rooms ours was a very spacious family room it had 1 double bed 2 single beds and a sofa bed with lots of space wardrobe etc.
service & breakfast was lovely.
on a whole the guesthouse was run very well we would defo book again couldnt fault it .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mechellenste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Stayed here several times,and always welcome,and even with the big hotel chains in the city,always stay here,calm and quiet,comfy beds,great brekkie,free parking!!!.
Never any complaints,and get booking folks!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 69sunnydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Met our needs perfectly. Very cosy, warm place which was superb as it was freezing at that time. Bed very comfortable. Room spotless. Breakfast very substantial Jim, the owner, very helpful and always made himself available. Absolutely no complaints. We would Highly Recommend this B&B to any visitor to Edinburgh. Edinburgh is the perfect place for a weekend break!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed here for two nights in mid-August 2006. The price was £90 per night (breakfast included), which was a bit steep, but we were in Edinburgh during the festival, so inexpensive accommodations were difficult (if not impossible) to come by. We also booked the room only a couple weeks before we arrived, so we considered ourselves lucky to find a place at all!

The Brig O'Doon is located a few miles from Edinburgh's city centre on Ferry Road, in a row of guest houses across from a large athletic field. As a result, the rooms in the front (including ours) had a nice view of Edinburgh Castle and other buildings along the Royal Mile as well as of Calton Hill, Salisbury Crags, and Arthur's Seat. Unfortunately, at night a large spotlight in the athletic field kind of affected the view of the night lighting of the buildings, but it was still nice nonetheless. During the day it was quite an impressive view, especially because we had beautiful, clear weather during our stay.

Our room was #4, which is a "family room" with a double bed and a twin bed, plus a sofa and a chair. It was quite spacious, with exceedingly high ceilings. The attached, private bathroom ("en suite") had a smallish shower, no tub. There also was another sink in the bedroom. No washcloths (no surprise) or toiletries (also no surprise) save small bars of Palmolive soap. There was a large TV but it received only a few channels (apparently via antenna). There also was a clock radio that wasn't plugged in and that we never used. In-room coffee and tea makings were available, along with 3 individual packets of biscuits (different types). The room had a large wardrobe, with real hangers (i.e., not attached to the hanging bar), albeit a mish-mash of hanger types. :-) There were three small nightstands and three small bed lamps. A large bay window overlooked the street and the aforementioned view of the castle, etc. Altogether a charming room. The main drawback was that it was in the front, which was quite close to the street, and it was a busy street so there was a fair amount of traffic noise. Closing the windows alleviated the noise somewhat, but not a whole lot. Traffic did die down overnight but of course picked up again in the morning. The noise didn't keep us up at night, but those unused to traffic noise might find it disconcerting. Also, there was no elevator. (Our room was one flight up, but there were other rooms up a second flight.)

Breakfast was served from 8-9 am and was the usual Scottish breakfast: eggs, bacon or sausage, beans (if desired), tomatoes (ditto), toast, coffee, tea, juice, some cold cereals, yogurt, and fruits (apples, oranges, bananas). They were happy to accept requests, such as for croissants or hot cereal (porridge), although you had to make those requests the day before so they could shop/prepare accordingly.

There was no Internet access at the guest house. We went to the Easy Internet shop on Rose Street to check email.

You can check room availability via the Brig O' Doon web site, which sends email to the owner, but you can't complete the reservation at the web site (i.e., submit credit card info). When I submitted my availability request, I got an email response pretty quickly (within an hour). I later called to confirm the reservation and provide credit card info, and I spoke with the owner, Jim Kirk, who was very nice on the phone. However, he was away during our stay, so when we were there, we dealt with a "relief manager," David, who was also very nice and very helpful and accommodating (told us which bus to take to the city center, provided maps, and so forth).

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good breakfast, big room, nice view
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Tips/Secrets — Not within walking distance of the city centre, but bus service is frequent and you can get a day pass.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AspenPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Garfield Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 392 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexander Guest House
#214 of 392 in Edinburgh
55 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
283 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#187 of 392 in Edinburgh
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig O'Doon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig O'Doon Guest House

Property: Brig O'Doon Guest House
Address: 262 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brig O'Doon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig O'Doon Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing