We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid, Excellent value, enjoyable and very comfotable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brig O'Doon Guest House
Ranked #198 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Met our needs perfectly. Very cosy, warm place which was superb as it was freezing at that time. Bed very comfortable. Room spotless. Breakfast very substantial Jim, the owner, very helpful and always made himself available. Absolutely no complaints. We would Highly Recommend this B&B to any visitor to Edinburgh. Edinburgh is the perfect place for a weekend break!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micris54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2006

We stayed here for two nights in mid-August 2006. The price was £90 per night (breakfast included), which was a bit steep, but we were in Edinburgh during the festival, so inexpensive accommodations were difficult (if not impossible) to come by. We also booked the room only a couple weeks before we arrived, so we considered ourselves lucky to find a place at all!

The Brig O'Doon is located a few miles from Edinburgh's city centre on Ferry Road, in a row of guest houses across from a large athletic field. As a result, the rooms in the front (including ours) had a nice view of Edinburgh Castle and other buildings along the Royal Mile as well as of Calton Hill, Salisbury Crags, and Arthur's Seat. Unfortunately, at night a large spotlight in the athletic field kind of affected the view of the night lighting of the buildings, but it was still nice nonetheless. During the day it was quite an impressive view, especially because we had beautiful, clear weather during our stay.

Our room was #4, which is a "family room" with a double bed and a twin bed, plus a sofa and a chair. It was quite spacious, with exceedingly high ceilings. The attached, private bathroom ("en suite") had a smallish shower, no tub. There also was another sink in the bedroom. No washcloths (no surprise) or toiletries (also no surprise) save small bars of Palmolive soap. There was a large TV but it received only a few channels (apparently via antenna). There also was a clock radio that wasn't plugged in and that we never used. In-room coffee and tea makings were available, along with 3 individual packets of biscuits (different types). The room had a large wardrobe, with real hangers (i.e., not attached to the hanging bar), albeit a mish-mash of hanger types. :-) There were three small nightstands and three small bed lamps. A large bay window overlooked the street and the aforementioned view of the castle, etc. Altogether a charming room. The main drawback was that it was in the front, which was quite close to the street, and it was a busy street so there was a fair amount of traffic noise. Closing the windows alleviated the noise somewhat, but not a whole lot. Traffic did die down overnight but of course picked up again in the morning. The noise didn't keep us up at night, but those unused to traffic noise might find it disconcerting. Also, there was no elevator. (Our room was one flight up, but there were other rooms up a second flight.)

Breakfast was served from 8-9 am and was the usual Scottish breakfast: eggs, bacon or sausage, beans (if desired), tomatoes (ditto), toast, coffee, tea, juice, some cold cereals, yogurt, and fruits (apples, oranges, bananas). They were happy to accept requests, such as for croissants or hot cereal (porridge), although you had to make those requests the day before so they could shop/prepare accordingly.

There was no Internet access at the guest house. We went to the Easy Internet shop on Rose Street to check email.

You can check room availability via the Brig O' Doon web site, which sends email to the owner, but you can't complete the reservation at the web site (i.e., submit credit card info). When I submitted my availability request, I got an email response pretty quickly (within an hour). I later called to confirm the reservation and provide credit card info, and I spoke with the owner, Jim Kirk, who was very nice on the phone. However, he was away during our stay, so when we were there, we dealt with a "relief manager," David, who was also very nice and very helpful and accommodating (told us which bus to take to the city center, provided maps, and so forth).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AspenPine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flonflon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank NastyMsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Naimor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am besten nach hinten raus. Wegen der Straße .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWunderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#110 of 396 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brig O'Doon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brig O'Doon Guest House

Address: 262 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £54 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brig O'Doon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brig O'Doon Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing