We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience in a victorian house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gifford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gifford House
Ranked #73 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing experience in a victorian house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed to this B&B last week for the easter holiday with all my family (I got 2 kids) and it has been an amazing and unexpected experience.The room (our room was the number 4) was incredibly spacious and well presented.The level of details was absolutly high standard (the box containing biscuits, chocolates blends, the bags, etc was always full and updated and in the bathroom I found scissors and kit for shaving as in the 5 stars hotel). The breakfast was delicious and abundant with a lots of different alternatives (enghlish, scottish and continental) to choose between.
The kindness of Margharet and David was fantastic and i felt there like home.
Absolutely suggested also for the good ratio quality/price and for the location (around 20 mins walking from the city centre and 2 min walking from the bus stop...bus numbers 14, 30, 33)
I am sure i will be back as soon as i can arrange an other family trip to scotland!
Monia

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Very friendly and helpful welcome from Margaret, and a perfectly located B&B for visiting Edinburgh. The room was clean and warm (especially welcome since it was the coldest weekend ever!) with a tasty breakfast served by David. We had booked a deluxe king room but were slightly disappointed that it seemed to be one of the little side rooms rather than one with a bay window. However, it was clean and comfortable. We would recommend this place to others and would stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had a great time there, even if not much in the room. Good situation, very close to Arthur's seat, which is definitely a nice little hike to do. Great breakfast in the morning, room was spacious, large choice of dvds, everything you need for your iphone / ipod in the room, nice little box in the bathroom or a daily clean up, and very nice tenants. Thank you again for a nice stay David and Margaret.

Room Tip: we were in Room 4.. very good, can accomodate a couple + 2 kids, as 2 single beds as well in this bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thibthib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spent 4 nights in December in a beautifully appointed 3-bedroom at Gifford house with all amenities. The place has a lovely atmosphere which is only enhanced by Margret´s and David´s hospitality and warmth. Breakfast offers a good variety including fish, freshly fried eggs, cheeses, cereals, yoghurt ... Even though we had a room facing the main road the location is quiet enough and pretty close to the heart of the city. If it hadn´t been so called we probably would have walked. As there are about three different busses going to the center we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes for the next bus. All in all Gifford house offers excellent value for money.
Edinburgh is an amazing place and staying in Gifford house just made our trip even more special!

Claudia, Carola and Anja

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Margaret and David proved to be excellent hosts for my 3 night stay. They were flexible and helpful. I was able to get access to my room early on my first day which enabled me to explore the city. I was visiting Edinburgh along with two colleagues for a development course and Gifford House was a comfortable and welcoming retreat for all three of us. The guest house is well placed for good bus routes (have the right change) and provides warm (Edinburgh was particularly cold) and restful rooms. I welcomed the digital radio/i-pod player as I don't tend to watch TV. Breakfast was excellent (well above the standard B and B) with individual needs bring met. I would definitely stay there again. My 5 star rating reflects the value for money offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Booked Gifford House from reviews on trip advisor. Margaret & David are friendly hosts.....room was good, bathroom slightly small. Excellent location for us as son competing at Scottish short course National Championships.

Would stay here again......Edinburgh has surprised me and I should have visited earlier!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

1 night stay.

Hosts very welcoming and our room was perfect with all needs catered for including wifi - the room looked on to arthurs seat.

No parking on site but there is free parking round the corner - about a minutes walk away.

Great breakfast.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#52 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#90 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priestville Guest House
Priestville Guest House
#76 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House

Property: Gifford House
Address: 103 Dalkeith Rd., Edinburgh EH16 5AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gifford House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gifford House is an elegant 4 Star GOLD guest house located one and a quareter miles from the Royal Mile.David and Margaret the resident owners like to offer their guests a high quality of comfort and serviceAll our rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard with your comfort in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing