We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Gifford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gifford House
Ranked #74 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The owner was very nice and friendly; room is clean and comfortable with TV, though the reception wasn't too good so it breaks quite easily; good breakfast and very quiet. The only thing is it is not that close to city center and you need to walk a bit far to find food when it's late.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
63
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great B&B, wonderful property, comfortable spacious rooms. Warm & hospitable hosts and sumptuous breakfast. Excellent location close to Princes Street. Highly recommended. Stayed in top floor room, it was great. Thank you, David & Margaret.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjun1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Me and my son stayed here for a few days on our citytrip in Edinburgh. The B&B is situated in a quiet area just 10 minutes away from the busy centre. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They cooked us a fresh breakfast every morning. The room is magnificent; comfortable beds, coffee and tea facitities, great shower facilities.
We would recommend this to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariannepoulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our room was very nice with a lovely view, comfortable beds and a clean - though tiny bathroom. Our hosts were very helpful in getting us taxis and any other information we needed and easily accommodated our early departures with an early breakfast.
The B& B is only a few blocks from the start of the pathway up to Arthur's Seat. The walk is a bit strenuous but not long and definitely worth the effort

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed for a week and cannot tell you how wonderful it was. Margaret & David were the most wonderful hosts & the room was great. This was probably the cleanest B&B I've ever stayed at & am planning on returning for another visit. Breakfast was incredible & they even had a box in the room with teas & coffee & hot chocolate as well as cookies.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed to this B&B last week for the easter holiday with all my family (I got 2 kids) and it has been an amazing and unexpected experience.The room (our room was the number 4) was incredibly spacious and well presented.The level of details was absolutly high standard (the box containing biscuits, chocolates blends, the bags, etc was always full and updated and in the bathroom I found scissors and kit for shaving as in the 5 stars hotel). The breakfast was delicious and abundant with a lots of different alternatives (enghlish, scottish and continental) to choose between.
The kindness of Margharet and David was fantastic and i felt there like home.
Absolutely suggested also for the good ratio quality/price and for the location (around 20 mins walking from the city centre and 2 min walking from the bus stop...bus numbers 14, 30, 33)
I am sure i will be back as soon as i can arrange an other family trip to scotland!
Monia

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Very friendly and helpful welcome from Margaret, and a perfectly located B&B for visiting Edinburgh. The room was clean and warm (especially welcome since it was the coldest weekend ever!) with a tasty breakfast served by David. We had booked a deluxe king room but were slightly disappointed that it seemed to be one of the little side rooms rather than one with a bay window. However, it was clean and comfortable. We would recommend this place to others and would stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#17 of 392 in Edinburgh
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#157 of 392 in Edinburgh
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#51 of 392 in Edinburgh
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpha Guest House
Alpha Guest House
#132 of 392 in Edinburgh
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#67 of 392 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House

Property: Gifford House
Address: 103 Dalkeith Rd., Edinburgh EH16 5AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gifford House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gifford House is an elegant 4 Star GOLD guest house located one and a quareter miles from the Royal Mile.David and Margaret the resident owners like to offer their guests a high quality of comfort and serviceAll our rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard with your comfort in mind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing