We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #83 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast what more can you ask for! Well place for Edinburgh without having to pay top city centre prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhairedyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    176
    92
    23
    22
See reviews for
85
128
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had girlie shopping trip to Edinburgh and stayed weekend at this hotel, the staff were excellent. We were 13 in all so we used quite a few rooms. We had a problem with heating in a couple of the rooms and no sooner was it reported to Sarah than someone came to look at the radiators. The heating system may want an overhaul as a couple of the rooms were not heated enough but we were even offered electric heaters and hot water bottles. You would not get that level of service in a large hotel chain. The staff made the stay great as nothing was too much trouble from checking in to leaving, Andrina who checked us in even came to check we were OK before she went home after her shift. Distance to main shopping centre was not a problem as we could walk and a few pubs and restaurants are close by. Breakfast was also a bonus and we would use this hotel again as it proved good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamlahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lonodon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This is now the hotel I will always use when going to Edinburgh. The location is perfect, with a 5 minute walk to Princes street and surrounding areas. Bus stop is 200 yards away from the front door and is only 2 stops away from the centre of the city.
We stayed for 2 nights mid-week as a mini-honeymoon, bought for us by our good friend. We found all the staff very friendly and they made sure we had a great stay.
Breakfast was great and plentiful, rooms were to a high standard and very clean.
I could not recommend this hotel enough for anyone visiting Edinburgh. We will be visiting here again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHughson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I visited Edinburgh on business and was looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the west end at short notice.I looked at a number of the chain hotels in the area and was really shocked at the prices being asked so i decided to look further a field. The Haymarket Hotel came up on one of the websites and looked worth a peek.
I was really pleased to find my self in a really comfortable room - high ceiling , very comfortable bed , great shower - nice people. The hotel is very popular with visitors who all seem to love the place and I can understand why when I look at the prices and the standards being provided.

Breakfast is good - all freshly cooked and served in a fine breakfast room. If i was visiting Edinburgh on business or for a few days break I would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Had a splendid 3 night stay with my wife and 7 year old.
Service was excellent as were the breakfasts!
Very friendly. Room was very spacious (triple - no. 24) and clean.
Lovely hot shower!
Hotel is a brisk 10-15 minute walk from Princess Street (even with a 7 year old playing piggy back).
No activities for children but we were not there for that.
Recomended and would return.

Room Tip: No parking that I was aware of but we parked on a private drive near Murrayfield (20 min walk) throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyTom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was on a business trip and had a room downstairs which was amazing. Like a small suite. Although single room there was a queen bed, and even a small patio. Staff was very helpful. Great breakfast. Good location close to Haymarket station. Can definitely recommed it for business trips, singles, friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgottentowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed here with a friend on the 22nd June 2011. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was clean, spacious and no lack of hot water in the bathroom.

Breakfast was tasty and filling and served with a smile.

The location is great, Haymarket Station is just around the corner, Murrayfield is a 10/15 minute walk away, and there are a good selection of coffee shops and restaurants right on the doorstep.


I would definatley stay here again, just not when there is a big event on as the price for a twin room was much higher than I thought we would be paying, but that seems to be the norm at all the hotels and not just the Haymarket.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#74 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,063 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#136 of 149 in Edinburgh
97 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
827 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#17 of 392 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
West End
My Edinburgh Life
My Edinburgh Life
#300 of 392 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1-3 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing