We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #71 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is a converted old-style house located in the Haymarket area. It's location is not near to the main attractions in Edinburgh but still central enough to facilitate commuting by bus. Hence, the nearest bus terminus to the city centre and even airport is just 1 walking minute away. The price is very reasonable for this hotel, its facilities and location. The staff are very friendly and helpful; as most Scots are. We definitely recommend it to holiday planners who wouldn't mind going around on buses or on-foot and who want a quiet hotel in a not-so-crowded area.

Room Tip: Try for 1st floor rooms since there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice room in a small hotel. Friendly staff. WiFi was spotty, but otherwise a pleasant, short stay. If I were going to be in Edinburgh again, for a longer visit, I would probably opt for a room closer to Old Town, but this one was entirely satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. The location is about 10 min by walk from Princess Street (where usually you head to in order to reach basically everything in Edinburgh) or less by Bus. Bus, Train and Aerolink stops are very close to the hotel. The hotel is near the Catthedral of St. Mary and the Museum of Modern Art (which you have to visit).

The hotel is quiet, clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilippoLn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

For the price I paid, this was fair. It has no fundamental drawbacks. It is quiet (particularly at the back) and the rooms are reasonably spacious and clean. Although it does not advertise wifi in the rooms, it worked well in mine.

The room needed a lick of paint - there was evidence of a major flood at some point from the room above - and attention to a droopy shower head that washed the wall. Note to hoteliers: if you want your guests to sing your praises don't skimp on breakfast ingredients, and don't serve orange juice in thimbles. I have just come back from a night somewhere else that did much better for a slightly lower price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The room we had was a triple, beds where very comfortable and the room was one of the renovated on the 4th floor. Breakfast was very average to say the least, if you don't like taking the stairs?Or have have trouble climbing stairs? well this place is not for you, there is no elevator in the 3 story building. The staff are very helpful for directions and for which buses to catch to town or to the zoo. The Haymarket Hotel also has free tea&coffee in rooms and free WiFi. But for some reason we had trouble picking up the WiFi in our room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lex1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious ... Recently refurbished bathroom ... Lovely and clean ... They even let us leave our suitcases there after checkout so we could finish exploring Edinburgh ... The breakfast was average but enough to eat ... Friendly staff ... Would highly recommend it ... There is no lift so if stairs are not your thing don't stay here. But if you don't like stairs maybe Edinburgh isn't the place for you anyway... We liked it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dleyshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We arrived and were greatly surprised by this establishment.Our room was huge for the three of us but lovely and warm throughout our stay.The staff cannot do enough fo you and the breakfast lasted us until teatime!!!The train station is literally at the bottom of the street,so no long way to carry bags.Its on a great bus service but to get to the start of Prince's street is only 10 minutes walk.Im glad I didnt come by car as you can't park outside the hotel.Theres a great choice of eating all over the town-all easily reached from the hotel.Well done to elaine,andrina and staff.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyd727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
188 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#106 of 151 in Edinburgh
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#66 of 394 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#15 of 394 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1-3 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing