We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #81 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed 17th -19th August during Edinburgh festival and it was a last minute booking. I was unable to book a hotel in the centre of the city but the haymarket hotel is only 3 mins walk away from Haymarket railway station.
Being away from the centre has its advantages as well as its disadvantages- it's much quieter .
It is 15 mins walk to Princes street .
The room was fine and had an ensuite , plasma tv , tea /coffee facilities but certainly is only suitable as a base .
Breakfast is included and there is the option of a full Scottish breakfast at no extra charge.
Sarah was brilliant. I had to leave early on Monday and she offered to do me a cooked breakfast even though it was half hour earlier than the set meal time, she came looking for me the night before to check on what I wanted that so she could have it ready for me . She made sure I had soya milk and nothing was too much trouble. I hope The Haymarket appreciate her.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelique5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    166
    85
    21
    22
See reviews for
83
122
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here with my fiance and it was just okay. We were given a double room on the top floor which was decorated nicely and first impressions were pleasing. However on the days we stayed there it was extremely hot weather and due to the level of our room, the heat was unbearable. We told the staff and were given a small table fan. Unfortunately, this did absolutely nothing towards cooling the large room. We had a terrible nights sleep due to the heat and couldn't wait to get outside the following morning. Of course we understand that Edinburgh isn't known for its hot weather but there should be contingency plans for the odd occasion when it is hot- especially for the top floor rooms.
The cooked breakfast was okay, but by no means anything special. The staff seemed stressed and often disappeared for lengthy amounts of time.
The atmosphere about this hotel was lacking. Sadly we wont be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PodNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
423 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We came in the middle of Festival times to Edinburgh and thus had difficulties finding a decent hotel with a 3-bed hotel room. After having checked a few with availability we eventually choose the Haymarket Coates Garden at the price of 135 GPB for this room incl. breakfast. Walking distance to the Castle and many restaurants to choose from...

Room Tip: Select one with a view facing the street rather than the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Overall, this is a very nice place to stay while in Edinburgh. It's only steps away from the airport shuttle bus stop. My room was large, nicely decorated and the bathroom was updated and spotless. The staff was very friendly and and helpful. I didn't have the breakfast so i cant comment on the quality, but the price seemed a bit high. My room was on the 4th floor so if you don't like climbing stairs, ask for a lower unit (no elevators). Getting to the center of Edinburg is a good 15 minute walk, but very straightforward and through nice neighborhoods.

The only negative comment i have is the wifi access. It was spotty at best and while I was told a strong signal was available in the common areas, that really wasn't the case.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room if you don't like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottsdale_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my mum for an Edinburgh city break. The location is brilliant; close to the station and only a 15min walk to central Edinburgh. We stayed in a twin room in the basement. The room had enough space but smelt a bit damp and smoky. The view from the window was just a scruffy yard and next to our room there was a small space full of ladders etc. It was also quite dusty in some places. The bathroom is very modern but throughout our stay there was a strong unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom. We couldn't tell if it was the pipes, the toilet brush or maybe something hadn't been cleaned properly. We had to close the bathroom door overnight and keep the fan on so the smell didn't come into the bedroom. We didn't complain as it was impossible to tell properly where the smell was coming from.
The breakfast was fine and staff were wonderful and provided fast service. I don't think i will be returning as it was quite highly priced (£90p/n).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel is a good value for a very nice room. The room was clean and spacious. The bath was clean and updated. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The bus stop is a very short walk and walking to the central part of town, a little long, but wonderful sights along the way. Pubs and restaurants are close by. The staff is friendly and helpful.We had to walk up 3 flights of stairs, but staff helped carry our luggage. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After arriving we were showed after paying to our room.Very spacious. Clean although very warm with no air -con.Breakfast was good and only ruined by oldest of waitresses standing over my partner waiting for her plate.Found it quite annoying.Not enough seats for breakfast if a lot turn up at once . Alternative is you can wait or go to bar area next door . Unfortunately with breakfast experience we will not be going back.
All the other staff were helpful and courteous. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkjockD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
997 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
606 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#69 of 444 in Edinburgh
460 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#19 of 444 in Edinburgh
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1-3 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5NG , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing