We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family run hotel with great character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #80 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely family run hotel with great character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a fabulous experience at the Haymarket. As a family of five, we stayed in a family room, which had a four poster bed and although the room was designed for four, the staff even brought in a full bed for us rather than a camp bed when we enquired about accommodating an additional person. The room was spacious and bright. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to many small interesting shops and within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh. The breakfast was lovely and free wifi was good. Above all, the staff were some of the friendliest I have come across and made our stay all the better. The only negative point was the unreliable temperature on the showers, but this didn't detract much from the overall experience.
A gem of a hotel, great value for money and highly recommended for a short stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    166
    84
    22
    22
See reviews for
82
122
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient, just a block from the Haymarket train station and Airlink airport bus stop. It's traditional on the outside and fairly modern on the inside. It was very clean, and the staff were very friendly. However, it is a bit more expensive than the guesthouses down the street, and I could not get the wifi to work. Since wifi is necessary for me to get internet access with my American smartphone (not set up for use in UK), this was quite a nuisance. Also, the shower door was missing.

Helpful?
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We wanted so ethereal to stay in the centre that wasn't a ridiculous price, we got that and more with the haymarket! Service was awesome! Really got on with the manager, breakfast was just what we wanted in the morning, the bed was comfy enough, especially being on the top floor, was nice to get into the bed! We have booked again for this May on the Monday after the marathon and it can't come quick enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeon270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic night here with my partner, staff were great, room was perfect, well located just a stones throw from Haymarket Station, had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed, and a tasty breakfast in the morning, will be back as soon as time allows, looking forward to it already !!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was beautifully presented. The bed was comfy. The en suite was large. Our window looked out onto the barrel yard by the looks of it where all the old barrels for the bar were kept before being picked up by the brewery. This didn't matter to us though as we were only using the hotel to sleep after a long day of sightseeing around Edinburgh. The bar was over priced as the same with any other hotel.

The biggest let down was having the car with us and nowhere to put it. The entire area is permits only and we spent £25 in parking over the weekend just trying to move it here there and everywhere to avoid getting a ticket. If you're going to stay here, get the train or fly in.

Oh and most of the rooms have wooden flooring. which looks and feels nice. but if someone running around there room in heels next to yours it will sound like riverdance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is family run and a real gem only 2 minutes walk from Haymarket station. The staff are really friendly and helpful, prices great and breakfast delicious. It is so much better than being in a big soulless chain hotel. I was there for business but will go back for a leisure visit. It is so handy for the centre of Edinburgh, public transport and Murrayfield. Stay there, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhoyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendle, lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Haymarket this weekend and yes the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. We stayed in room number 10, which was on the Buchanan side. The room was freshly decorated and we were informed that the bed had never even been slept in. And, you could definitely tell as it was rock hard. The lights at the back end of the room didn't work, the shower had 2 temperatures (scorching hot or freezing cold). But the main reason I am writing this review is due to the noise in the morning. I'm not sure how close we were to the kitchen but it felt like we wren in the middle of the breakfast preparations, from 5.30 am there were plates and cutlery clattering about, doors banging in the wind and much more. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cctchjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#69 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1-3 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5NG , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing