We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character and location”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #73 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel our last night in the City and I wish I had discovered it sooner. It is an easy walk to all kinds of pubs and restaurants. And, while the building is close to 200 years old you would never know it by the quality of the room. We had the family suite and it was lovely...also very quiet. Staff was accommodating and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatrice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is good enough to miss it a little.

advantages:
- it is well situated. 7 minutes walk from Haymarket railway station.
- staff is just excellent. They took us as kind of their relatives, we felt very comfortable about that.
- breakfast is tasty and rich and served fast.

disadvantages
- our room had very week main door and doorlock.
- the water heater is not effective enough, it gave quite tiny water stream. Such a heater suites for a small house in the country, not for a city hotel.

One could also say that going to the breakfast via street is not comfortable but we didn't see any problem in that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yurrikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a fabulous experience at the Haymarket. As a family of five, we stayed in a family room, which had a four poster bed and although the room was designed for four, the staff even brought in a full bed for us rather than a camp bed when we enquired about accommodating an additional person. The room was spacious and bright. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to many small interesting shops and within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh. The breakfast was lovely and free wifi was good. Above all, the staff were some of the friendliest I have come across and made our stay all the better. The only negative point was the unreliable temperature on the showers, but this didn't detract much from the overall experience.
A gem of a hotel, great value for money and highly recommended for a short stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient, just a block from the Haymarket train station and Airlink airport bus stop. It's traditional on the outside and fairly modern on the inside. It was very clean, and the staff were very friendly. However, it is a bit more expensive than the guesthouses down the street, and I could not get the wifi to work. Since wifi is necessary for me to get internet access with my American smartphone (not set up for use in UK), this was quite a nuisance. Also, the shower door was missing.

Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We wanted so ethereal to stay in the centre that wasn't a ridiculous price, we got that and more with the haymarket! Service was awesome! Really got on with the manager, breakfast was just what we wanted in the morning, the bed was comfy enough, especially being on the top floor, was nice to get into the bed! We have booked again for this May on the Monday after the marathon and it can't come quick enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simeon270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic night here with my partner, staff were great, room was perfect, well located just a stones throw from Haymarket Station, had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed, and a tasty breakfast in the morning, will be back as soon as time allows, looking forward to it already !!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was beautifully presented. The bed was comfy. The en suite was large. Our window looked out onto the barrel yard by the looks of it where all the old barrels for the bar were kept before being picked up by the brewery. This didn't matter to us though as we were only using the hotel to sleep after a long day of sightseeing around Edinburgh. The bar was over priced as the same with any other hotel.

The biggest let down was having the car with us and nowhere to put it. The entire area is permits only and we spent £25 in parking over the weekend just trying to move it here there and everywhere to avoid getting a ticket. If you're going to stay here, get the train or fly in.

Oh and most of the rooms have wooden flooring. which looks and feels nice. but if someone running around there room in heels next to yours it will sound like riverdance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#105 of 151 in Edinburgh
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#69 of 395 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#15 of 395 in Edinburgh
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1-3 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing