We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #105 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh
1 review
“Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location- a quiet road with free parking on the weekend. Very polite staff and very clean hotel. We stayed in a family suite and cannot fault it. We enjoyed the excellent pool and steam room facilities. We especially enjoyed the breakfast with a very good selection provided. Helpful service throughout our stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Wayne
So glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel. Sounds like you made good use of the facilities and our fantastic location.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    299
    159
    50
    36
See reviews for
175
371
19
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel was just gorgeous. Situated within lots of greeness and just 2 minutes walk to calton hill! I was upgraded to a very nice suite with a small outdoor garden with stairs leading up to the garden. The decor was excellent as well. One thig I have to mention is the Crowne Plaza spray by the pillow. The lavendar smell was enhanting and it did help me with my sleep.

The staff were very nice and helpful as well, expecially the concierge team.

Overall, a very impressive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandy2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Brandy2076
What lovely feedback. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor, it was great to read. Our gardens are lovely and I am so pleased you had a chance to appreciate them.
Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed in the Royal Terrace before it was taken over by Crowne Plaza and hated it. This time I stayed in a (albeit a Club Room) and they are HUGE! The Club Lounge could be a bit more extravagant, drink choices are very limited. Bathroom was okay, although the toilet seat was all scratched (bit odd) apart from that - would definitely return. Staff are great and really go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCara89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Amy
So pleased to read that you have found our change to Crowne Plaza to be a positive one. Great that you got to enjoy the club room and the lounge facilities. We do provide beers, house wines and spirits as part of the club lounge package and further drink options are available at your own cost, can be ordered and delivered to the club lounge of course, so something to keep in mind for your next visit.
It is wonderful to read such positive comments regarding the team as they are the ones that really make the difference to your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed as part of a bus tour. Room was excellent (we were upgraded). Service was good and the breakfast was good. Only one small elevator, which was problematic if they were using it for lots of luggage. Good restaurants within easy walking distance, as well as the theatre and a shopping centre. Cheap taxi fare to the Royal Mile attractions and walkable for those in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Nancy
Thank you for your wonderful review, so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the upgrade! It is a beautiful old & historic building, with the cons of this being only one lift. We do make it work, and concierge are on hand to help with your luggage to take that concern away. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is in a nice cobbled road quite close to central Edinburgh about 15 minutes walk from the train station and centre, and abouit ten minutes from the Edinburgh Playhouse and a lot of restaurants, as well as the Omni Centre. The hotel appears to be quite old and is in a delightful row of old houses. It is reputedly haunted, but we saw no sign of that!

We had a couple of issues; on day one we returned to our room at 3.45 p,m. and were somewhat surprised that it had not been serviced. That was dealt with very speedily. Then on the second morning, no hot water! Eventually that resolved itself too. However, when checking out the member of staff could not have dealt with this better and waived some charges as an apology! The staff were very good throughout and very attentive. Very nice gardens too!

Breakfast was substantial, well cooked and well served, as well as a large buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Barry
So pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay, sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast, it is a lovely indulgence!
I have followed up on your feedback as we pride ourselves on our standards and quality so will ensure that these issues are resolved promptly.
I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great location, 10 mins walk from Princes street, near to Leith for Brittania and rooms have a sea view. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection, even the bar prices are reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sally-anne
Wonderful to read that you had a great stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised by lovely hotel and beautiful garden which we could see from the room. Get instructions on how to turn on and off shower....One problem, they took the facecloth that I brought and no one answered the inquiries about the loss....buffet breakfast very nice.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbkenMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Guest
Our gardens are indeed a lovely unexpected surprise when you are in a city centre hotel, so glad that you loved them too!
If you would like me to follow up on the facecloth please feel free to email me at lucja@royalterracehotel.co.uk so I can investigate further. My apologies for this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Property: Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing