We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We decided, as a last minute treat, to go to Edinburgh for new year. We knew all the hotels would be more expensive than normal and after extensive research chose the Crown Plaza on Royal Terrace.

On arrival we were directed to our two rooms and the keys didn't work - a good start!! The keys were changed but didn't work on a further two occasions!

To say the rooms were small is an understatement. The floor had not been vacuumed properly as there was still rubbish visable. The bathroom was so small you could shower, visit the toilet and clean your teeth all at the same time!! For £289 per night per room they were dreadful.

One of the rooms was freezing cold - not what you want in Edinburgh in December/January! After complaining 3 times we eventually got a freestanding heater in the room.

Would definitely not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are offered either room 211 or 213 (either side of the lift!) refuse them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaatmiltonabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Linda
Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not get to experience our hotel as it should be. I would be happy to discuss further, if you could email me at general.manager@royalterracehotel.co.uk
I hope to hear from you so that we can look to restore your faith in our hotel.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I arrived late at night from a very long flight and left early the next morning but this a a gracious old world style hotel located in an Edinburgh Georgian terrace. Rooms are large and well equipped, staff are extremely friendly and gave me a warm welcome. A good Scottish breakfast before I continued my travels set me up for the day. My only regret was that it was such a short stay - I will be back!

Room Tip: If you're old like me request a room near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Graeme
Thank you for your review. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, albeit to short.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for hopefully a more extended visit.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for the weekend for a valentine weekend away and we were so pleased with the hotel it was lovely, our room was great and cleaned everyday, swimming area was fab and we had it all to ourself when we went, we had dinner in the restaurant one night which was lovely and service was fab, breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choices, was a perfect weekend and would recommend to other couples

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloesimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Chloe
Thank you for your lovely review. I hope we can welcome you back again for another special visit soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the second we walked in the staff were warm and friendly and continued to be for the rest of our stay. The food we had at the hotel was all well presented and delicious (this included the breakfasts, an afternoon tea and dinner). All staff were knowledgable of the local area and were really good at recommending attractions and other various places to visit. The room was large with two double beds and house keeping kept the room tidy both in the morning and the evening. The attention to detail of all staff was so great that a lost scarf was returned to us before we'd even noticed it was gone! We cannot recommend this hotel enough, an utterly brilliant stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Helen
Lovely to read that you had a fabulous Christmas Stay with us.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent a wonderful night at the royal terrace whilst enjoying all the Christmas festivities Edinburgh has to offer. We are platinum elite members with IHG so we've stayed a lot with the group and can honestly say our experience here was brilliant. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by reception staff, who took time to talk us through all our member benefits, we requested late check out and this wasn't a problem either. We stayed in G2 a spacious room to the front of the hotel with plenty of character, the room was perfect. The club lounge was equally well equipped and had a good relaxed atmosphere and the service received during happy hour exceeded our expectations. Thanks for making our weekend extra special. Keep up the good work. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Ricatalla
So pleasing to read you had such a great stay and enjoyed the wonderful festive atmosphere Edinburgh has to offer. G2 is a great room, and the Club Lounge really is a great asset to us. Wonderful that you could experience it all and I hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night only as a stop off on our way to northern Scotland. Apparently it only rebranded to Crowne Plaza in August 2013 and it fits into what we expect of Crowne Plazas very well. Not only is it a beautiful building but the rooms are of good size and the beds very comfortable.

Our room faced The Royal Terrace and despite the cobbled road outside we were not really troubled by traffic noise even with the single glazing. No doubt there are conservation restrictions over any changes to the windows.

The bathroom was tight but manageable with a good shower.

Breakfast was plentiful but a somewhat dry.

Service at reception and in the restaurant was excellent and friendly. The bar service was not quite so good.

All in all we enjoyed this stay and that the longer Crowne Plaza has the hotel the better it will get. What makes you think Crowne Plaza is our favourite IHG Brand!

Room Tip: The rooms facing over the Royal Terrace offer views over Leith to the Firth of Forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryC657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Terry
I hope you enjoyed your trip to Northern Scotland as much as your stay with us!
Thank you for your wonderful comments, it really is great to read such wonderful feedback.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

From the minute I arrived, there was a really warm welcome and everyone stopped what they were doing to greet guests as they passed by. I have experienced this hotel on a few occasions now for both business and pleasure, and it is very well suited to both. The meeting rooms are comfortable and the decor is really nice. My room was spacious and I had a peaceful night's sleep, especially with the pillow spray and pulse point oil - a lovely touch!
It's in a great location for seeing the city and is 2 minutes' walk from a great view of Arthur's seat.

Highly recommended all round!

Room Tip: The pool is in the basement - quite handy to have a room there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaB744208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Anna
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is our aim to make you feel so welcome and I am really pleased to read that we have succeeded, not just once, but on a number of occasions.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
803 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,619 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#64 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,546 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing