We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #106 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Royal Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked for afternoon tea at the hotel,Lovely welcome from staff, we went into swimming pool and steam sauna before going for our afternoon tea.What a delight with sandwiches little cakes scones with jam and cream and chocolates the waitress very cheerful and pleasent topping up teas or coffee.Lovely afternoon treat.Went outside to the terrace lovely gardens.15 mins walk from Edinburgh playhouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kats37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Kats37
Thank you for your lovely review, it is great to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and had the opportunity to explore our delightful gardens too.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    308
    167
    54
    39
See reviews for
182
382
21
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few years back with my work and found it faultless and loved the central location . We decided to go away for my wife's birthday and booked into a hotel near by that wasn't up to our standards as a special occasion we popped into to check availability we didn't wait long and was approached by a really friendly member of staff who quickly showed us a room we told him it was my partners birthday and upgraded us to 4 poster bedroom. The hotel is fantastic the staff are really friendly and very clean and well decorated. The manager ALISTAIR couldn't done enough to make my birthday perfect I thank you . Be back again soon

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank p11crg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
A belated happy birthday! So pleased that we were able to look after you so well! Make sure we are first choice next time. Thank you for your wonderful comments.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having had the great pleasure of staying at this hotel recently I can't praise it or it's staff highly enough. The location is great and makes exploring the city all the easier. The staff are incredible, knowledgeable on the city and eager to provide tips on what to see and where to eat. The room was spotless and incredibly comfortable. I was so impressed that my partner and I have already booked a return visit later this month.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Stevie
The fact that you are coming back already speaks volumes!
We look forward to welcoming you back again later this month.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary having got married at the Royal Terrace the year before. We were fortunate enough to stay in the room we had on our wedding night, one of their collection rooms-the one with the glass bathroom in the middle. The hotel staff greeted us warmly, there were heart balloons, confetti on the bed and a bottle of champagne - great attention to detail! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, beds were comfy, espresso machine was great, nice robes in the room. Would definitely recommend the hotel to those visiting edinburgh and I hope we have the chance to stay there again soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AMC21522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Congratulations once again! It was our honour to have you back to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary and relive the memories.
Hoping to see you again in a years time!
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the lovely welcome by the concierge and the receptionist, to our stunning room, our stay at the Royal Terrace was absolutely wonderful. Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Aside from the lovely, spotless room, with its fabulous bathroom, I must single out the concierge as being incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about places to go, and was also very impressed by the general pleasantness of all of the staff. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Congratulations! It is great to hear that you have really enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and fantastic that the team, in particular concierge, have been so helpful to you both.
Enjoy the rest of your break, and see you next time you are visiting our beautiful city.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I recently had a short break at the Crown Plaza, Royal Terrace and from check-in to check out we had a lovely, thoroughly relaxing break. We arrived very early, shortly after 10.30 and expected to have to put our luggage in storage until out room was ready for us, but were pleasantly surprised that, not only was the room ready, but we had been upgraded to one of the four poster rooms on the first floor. The room was as good as any we've stopped in with excellent views.

As I was convalescing after some neck surgery [due to too many years operating within the murky depths of the front row] we made full use of the pool and steam room. Despite a previous comment of the apparent arctic-like temperature of the pool we found it ideal for relaxing in and the steam room did as it says on the tin.

While we didn't fully dine in the restaurant, breakfasts were good and the customer care of the waiting staff was attentive without being overpowering. We had a pre-theatre snack, which was a sharing platter and is to be thoroughly recommended.

While it is inevitable that during any hotel break you will encounter many staff and we did not meet anyone who didn't have a smile and polite word for us and anything we asked for was delivered with the same good grace.

All in all a lovely break and this hotel will be the first place we check availability when we are next in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: It is a bit unfair to add a tip in choosing a room as we were very fortunate and grateful to be offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Wishing you a speedy recovery!
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased to hear that my team looked after you and your wife so well.
We will look forward to your next visit with us soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for 1 night with my 2 children, the rooms are a good size and very well equipped. A nice touch was to have bathrobes. Our room was ready when we arrived just after 1pm, the receptionist wasn't overly welcoming and didn't volunteer any extra information other than where our room was located. I had upgraded to the club lounge, it has very limited choice in drinks and wasn't replenished with the basic's (bottles of water) this seemed to be a problem in many areas of the hotel, at breakfast we asked 3 times for water and it never arrived. The swimming pool was ok, small but adequate, again the receptionist never explained that your key card had to be used to gain access to the pool and it has to be activated, even when I asked about the opening times.! The location is great in a quiet road but not too far to walk From the train station and shops.
Overall it's a nice small hotel, I just feel the receptionist let it down by not being welcoming and explaining the basics of the hotel. ( I was even mis informed about where to take breakfast after I asked the question.)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ijustwannago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ijustwannago,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am glad you liked your room accommodations. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
607 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
303 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Property: Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing