We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful location in Edinburgh's New Town with a lovely open outlook. Very friendly and helpful staff: nothing is too much bother. We had lunch on two separate occasions and on both, the food was plentiful and tasty. A highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the building are great - if you're at the front you get a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alioaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Alioaug
Thank you for a wonderful review. It is great to read that you had such a great stay and took advantage of our delicious food as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

So I was at the plaza today and was warmly welcomed by the lovely lisa who happened to be on reception. I felt very welcome as well as the hotel being beautiful the service is fabulous. On a scale of 1 - amazeballs it's up there with the Flying monkeys from the wizard of oz

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall-Patterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I was excited to be up there with the flying monkeys from Wizard of Oz!
Thank you for your unique take on the hotel, and so pleased that you had such an amazing stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback, particularly about Lisa, which I will pass on with thanks!
See you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Aunt and I had a lovely Easter themed afternoon tea on Easter Sunday. The food was amazing and the little special touches were well thought out. The weather was warm enough for a walk in the gardens, which are well worth a look. The service was excellent, nothing was too much bother. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJulieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear ScottJulieA
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful day, and great that you could get out and explore the gardens as well. It was a brilliant weekend for that!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pleasant hotel with comfortable beds and obliging staff. However there were a number of faults. For instance the safe was right at the top of the wardrobe and difficult to reach, and I'm over six foot tall. The standard bedroom was small but adequate, although a bit chilly as the thermostat wasn't working. Light bulbs not working and other small niggles which perhaps should have been dealt with.
The worst part of the stay was the breakfast which in my opinion was not good enough for a hotel of this class. If the guest didn't want to eat bacon and eggs etc the choice of other options were limited and looked unappetising.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mike
Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not enjoy the hotel as you should have. I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you if you have the time to drop me an email at general.manager@royalterracehotel.co.uk and I can give you a call.
We do offer a full breakfast and have additional items available to order to increase the options available.
I hope to hear from you shortly.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean.

Very relaxed feel and very helpful staff.

No car park but on street meter parking is available which is free from 17.30 to 08.30. I was able to park directly in front of reception every time

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gas wonderful views but the road could have slight road traffic noise but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 230JH230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that the team looked after you so well.
See you next time.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A friend and I spent a lovely day and night at this superbly located hotel. On checking-in, we were greeted by two ladies who were in training, and it's obvious how high the standard is set, which was reflected in their service. We were also greeted by the duty manager, Chris Campbell, who set out to make sure our stay was flawless. Commendations are rarely given to managers, but I find it important to acknowledge the effortless help provided by Chris. He was always on hand ensuring guests were happy and even delivering fresh towels to the spa, an absolute credit to the company!! The facilities were lovely, and the gym was most sanitary. Princes St and all the other main attractions are a pleasant short stroll away. Rooms were tasteful, amenities aplenty, and a tasty breakfast to set you up for the day. Ample parking also provided. Huge thanks to Chris and his team.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil_lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments, in particular regarding Chris, which I will be sure to pass on to him with thanks. I am also so pleased that it was noticeable that our team receive a high level of training, we aim to ensure that the team are 100% confident & happy in their jobs so they are able to deliver the highest level of seamless service possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We came to Edinburgh for my birthday and stayed two nights here.
The staff were lovely and very helpful with advice about where to visit during our stay.
The food was amazing and the Breakfast choice was first class.
Our room was massive and well equipped, the bed was unbelievably comfy too.
We will return the next time we go to Edinburgh.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mathew
A belated happy birthday! Great to hear you had such a fantastic stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 151 in Edinburgh
847 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,662 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#52 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,084 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,680 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing