We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #107 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I often have to work in Edinburgh and I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Royal Terrace on many occasions so I can really recommend it. What sets this hotel apart is the quality of the staff. They really go out of their way not just to be friendly and attentive but to address any problems you might have as a guest. In my experience, nothing is too much bother for them. There is a range of rooms in Royal Terrace, many of which are really lovely. I particularly like the rooms at the back of the hotel which back onto beautiful gardens. Royal Terrace is situated in a beautiful, central part of Edinburgh but these rooms are remarkably peaceful. This is a great hotel with a lot of tremendous restaurants nearby. I've always felt personally looked after here, so I can't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Jim
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is our aim to offer a personalised service and to treat every one of our guests as a valued individual so I am really pleased to read your feedback, and that of many others, that this rings true.
I too love the rooms that look out to the gardens, and now the weather is warmer the gardens are the ideal spot for a quiet drink in the afternoon in the peace and quiet. You wouldn't think you were in a bustling city!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

First of all, the Crowne Plaza - Royal Terrace is a nice hotel offering not just great breakfast in the morning, but also excellent food for dining.
The most outstanding point about this hotel is their staff.
Before arrival I did arrange some gifts through Teri, which should be prepared in one of the two rooms upon arrival. Communication was smooth and arrangements were made as requested. When arriving, Lisa at the reception welcomed us with a warm smile and did know about the surprise, which shows great communication. It was by far the best check-in experienced in the last years!
Scott, their Chief Concierge, and Esther later gave us great hints for things to do in the area as well as recommendations for restaurants, which was very good due to all locals having received their wages that night.
Those as well as all other staff let us more feel like home than in a hotel. Great job!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the courtyard as they are quiet and allow you to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German_Workaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

I am so pleased that we were able to make your stay all the more special through offering a seamless service by our extraordinary staff. The certainly are fantastic! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, especially Lisa, Terri, Esther and Scott with thanks.
See you again next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful location in Edinburgh's New Town with a lovely open outlook. Very friendly and helpful staff: nothing is too much bother. We had lunch on two separate occasions and on both, the food was plentiful and tasty. A highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the building are great - if you're at the front you get a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alioaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Alioaug
Thank you for a wonderful review. It is great to read that you had such a great stay and took advantage of our delicious food as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So I was at the plaza today and was warmly welcomed by the lovely lisa who happened to be on reception. I felt very welcome as well as the hotel being beautiful the service is fabulous. On a scale of 1 - amazeballs it's up there with the Flying monkeys from the wizard of oz

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall-Patterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I was excited to be up there with the flying monkeys from Wizard of Oz!
Thank you for your unique take on the hotel, and so pleased that you had such an amazing stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback, particularly about Lisa, which I will pass on with thanks!
See you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Aunt and I had a lovely Easter themed afternoon tea on Easter Sunday. The food was amazing and the little special touches were well thought out. The weather was warm enough for a walk in the gardens, which are well worth a look. The service was excellent, nothing was too much bother. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJulieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear ScottJulieA
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful day, and great that you could get out and explore the gardens as well. It was a brilliant weekend for that!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pleasant hotel with comfortable beds and obliging staff. However there were a number of faults. For instance the safe was right at the top of the wardrobe and difficult to reach, and I'm over six foot tall. The standard bedroom was small but adequate, although a bit chilly as the thermostat wasn't working. Light bulbs not working and other small niggles which perhaps should have been dealt with.
The worst part of the stay was the breakfast which in my opinion was not good enough for a hotel of this class. If the guest didn't want to eat bacon and eggs etc the choice of other options were limited and looked unappetising.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mike
Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame that you did not enjoy the hotel as you should have. I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you if you have the time to drop me an email at general.manager@royalterracehotel.co.uk and I can give you a call.
We do offer a full breakfast and have additional items available to order to increase the options available.
I hope to hear from you shortly.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean.

Very relaxed feel and very helpful staff.

No car park but on street meter parking is available which is free from 17.30 to 08.30. I was able to park directly in front of reception every time

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Front of the hotel gas wonderful views but the road could have slight road traffic noise but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 230JH230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that the team looked after you so well.
See you next time.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#67 of 151 in Edinburgh
874 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,712 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,732 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,685 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing