We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for allergies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Ranked #105 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for allergies”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently stayed at the royal terrace with two p/n and t/n allergic children. They hotel cater excellently for them opening new boxes to aviod cross contamination and went out to get safe yogurts for them to eat. Couldnt ask for more, thank you for keeping for children safe.

We had a two bedroom suite, prefect very good size and clean. Location is good very close to all the attractions within walking distance. Breakfast was good range to suit all. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allergykidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Allergykidz
Thanks for the recommendation. Great to hear that the team looked after you and the family with care, it was noted prior to your arrival and in our morning meetings to ensure that everyone was informed, so it is great to hear the communication works through to our guests.
We hope to see you back again next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    303
    162
    52
    37
See reviews for
178
375
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stockton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel lovely, room large, airy and spotless
Breakfast - plenty of choice and everything cooked well (except for scrambled eggs)
The highlight was the lovely welcome from a mature Scottish waitress - did not get her name.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Joy162
Thank you for a fantastic review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and your special welcome, have to assume this might have been Sharon.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in the hotel. Room was good clean and tidy and had all the facilities you would expect. The staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast was good in terms of choice but some more fruit being available would be good. Unusually for me I used the hotel bar and ordered food instead if trying to find a restaurant, I was pleased with the quality of the meal and value for money. One thing I think the hotel could do with investigating is the state of the carpets going down to the pool level. Overall I was happy with my stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be to your liking. I appreciate your comments on the carpet and it is certainly an area I am currently looking into as we need to get this replaced.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at the Crowne Plaza Royal Terrace and would definitely stay here again. It was only let down by variable service (and food) at breakfast. The hotel location is great - 10 min walk from station and a quiet road but loads nearby. We upgraded to a club superior room that was a great size - very relaxing with a lush bathroom. Our room overlooked the gardens - think this is the best side of the hotel as the road noise from the cobbles is quite loud. The club lounge is a definite bonus - soft drinks/coffee during the day and canapés and alcohol from 6pm to 8pm - canapés really rather good. Ate in the restaurant one evening and had the best steak for a while (beat anything in the States last year). Food very good - and a bonus that they took taste card. Reception always very helpful. Breakfast was the usual buffet affair with scrambled eggs drying out BUT they would do fresh poached, omelettes etc. it got rather busy at weekends and the staff at breakfast not as helpful as others.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club room; go for room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear JKW101
Thank you for you honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel, location, food and the team on the most part to be fantastic.
We are currently working very hard with our breakfast team to ensure that we can improve and maintain the improvement on our breakfast, this is the busiest area of our hotel and it is imperative that we get this right. Right now we are focussed on training with the front of house team and with the chefs to ensure the food quality is right up there with the fantastic steak you had for dinner, as well as top notch service to match.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our Book Club took advantage of a Groupon Offer of afternoon tea and use of the leisure facilities at the hotel. We were warmly welcomed by all the staff who escorted us to where the table was laid with dainty china. Tea was plentiful and the choice of sandwiches, scones, cakes and little treats was excellent. We were never made to feel rushed and spent as long as we wanted with copious amounts of tea to keep us going.
We then went to use the facilities and although the pool is not large, it was fine for our group and we ended up having it all to ourselves. The steam room and showers were just the right temperature and again we were not rushed and spent as long as we liked there. A super experience all round!!

Room Tip: Sorry but we didn't use the bedrooms this time, but perhaps next time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcscrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear mcscrapper
How wonderful to hear that you and your book club all enjoyed a fantastic afternoon relaxing and rejuvenating!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, whether it be for another dining experience or to come and stay.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hits:
Location - walking distance to train station, lots of eateries around, next to Calton Hill, bus stops nearby -- cannot be faulted!
Staff - everyone seems to want to ensure you have an incredible experience of Edinburgh
Rooms- they are good sized rooms and ours had a great view too
Wifi- very strong, had no problem connecting

Misses:
Shower - water takes a while to heat up. And I mean a while. You have to stand there till it reaches the right temperature, about 2 minutes!
Breakfast buffet - unfortunately the food was very mediocre and selection just okay. Also the service here definitely needs improvement. No one really attends to your specific table and you have to call for attention. Also, I ordered 2 fried eggs and it never came.
Elevator - only one lift! So the wait can be long. More often than not, opted to just take the stairs

Overall, had a pleasant stay and the staff were really nice. Location is good too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Penciltoon
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am pleased to read that you found the team, the rooms and our location a hit!
I will take your feedback on board regarding breakfast and the service as this is an area that we are putting a lot of focus on so your feedback is very helpful. Our hotel is an old building and the water can sometimes take a little bit longer, but once it comes it is very hot indeed!
We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are visiting Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband, brother and sister-in-law, and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Crowne Plaza -Royal Terrace. Our rooms (one overlooking the spectacular gardens, the other overlooking the cobblestoned tree lined street) were extremely comfortable and very generous in size. The beds and pillows were exceptional. All the staff were caring and accommodating esp. Scott, the concierge. His smiling face and eagerness to help made navigation around this charming city easy and memorable. Rory, the bartender was a perfect example of Edinburgh hospitality, and the bar open 24 hours was an added plus. Our only regret was that we were able to stay longer. But, we will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel overlook the private gardens and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalterrace, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Elizabeth
What a wonderful review! So pleased to read that you enjoyed our charming hotel and the team. We aim to offer a caring and seamless service, along with exceptional facilities and quality throughout.
Next time you must stay longer indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Lucja Leonard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,322 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#63 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace

Property: Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Address: 18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AQ, Scotland (Formerly Le Meridien Edinburgh)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#61 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features.We have recently undergone a refurbishment of our property and rebranded as Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (previously known as Royal Terrace Hotel part of Prima Hotels) on the 15th August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Terrace Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Terrace
Royal Terrace Hotel Edinburgh
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing