We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #206 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place for a great time”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Really great price-quality matchup, very kind and helpful staff, special shoutout to Peter, a great housekeeper who placed us in a better room for free and assisted in keeping luggages after our trip. Decent breakfasts in a cozy homely atmosphere included. My first experience in a guesthouse was perfect, thanks to this place and staff working there.

Room Tip: Twin suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    49
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
31
60
43
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are looking for a nice area to stay in, about 25 minutes to walk from the city centre, with friendly staff making you feel like home from the second you enter the house - Cherry Tree Villa Guest House is the place for you. We really enjoyed our stay here and the always service-minded family made sure you felt as welcome as possible and were also very helpful when it came to information about the city. The area was nice and quiet, and the walk to the city centre allows you to get the feel of local Scotland. Oh, and for those who enjoy spending time in nature, there is a mountain perfect for sunday walks very close to the Guest House. We will return here if we visit Scotland again, as it can be warmly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This guest house is a healthy 20-30 minute walk to the Royal Mile and the routes takes you through a slice of Edinburgh that you might otherwise miss on the tourist trail. The rooms are clean and tidy; the beds are firm and comfortable. We were offered the first floor and were happy to see a view of Arthur's Seat and gardens below. Peter greeted us with a warm and friendly smile and quickly got us settled into our room; he provided us with a map, directions and suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennwilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This B&B is well located among lots of similar B&Bs. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The B&B has some free parking at the back of the hotel but it has a very narrow laneway entrance so is not suitable for a large vehicle. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a very tiny shower and the water tended to accumulate rather than drain away so it was necessary to turn off the water mid-shower to avoid flooding the room. The cooked breakfast was average quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 755denisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed at Cherrytree Villa Guest house for 3 nights for the edinburgh fringe. We were meeted straight away by Peter, who was extremely friendly and very easy to talk to- he couldn't have made our stay any more enjoyable! The proximity of the guest house to the centre of Edinburgh is not bad, walking it takes around half an hour and there are many buses you can take if you don't feel like walking. The bedroom and shared bathroom were both very clean and quite spacious and breakfast was average, but good value for the price of the stay. Thank you very much for such a lovely stay and we hope to come back very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenfieldFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I came for a just a short holiday, having never visited Edinburgh. We were incredibly thankful for all the help the owner gave us. We were given a map of the town, showed how to get to Holyrood Park (which is only a ten minute walk away from the B&B and absolutely gorgeous). The owner was extremely kind. Our room was spacious, the breakfast was filling (I especially appreciated having a personal cafetiere with fresh coffee), and the free parking behind the B&B was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurLifeinOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Clarin Guest House
#130 of 444 in Edinburgh
104 reviews
Dorstan Guest House
#71 of 444 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Blossom House
#163 of 444 in Edinburgh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#43 of 444 in Edinburgh
180 reviews
16 Pilrig Guest House
#153 of 444 in Edinburgh
29 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#99 of 444 in Edinburgh
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Property: Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing