We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #200 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2006

Cherry Tree Villa Guest House is the perfect place for a great holiday: very nice rooms, a delicious breakfast (freshly cooked and plenty of choice) that completely prepares you for a day of sightseeing in the wonderful city of Edinburgh and above all Keith and Denise giving you a very warm welcome.

Moreover Cherry Tree Villa Guest House is located in a quiet area and is easy to reach by bus, which is another great advantage.

We have been in the Cherry Tree Villa twice and undoubtedly will be going back many times!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_two_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2006

Very disappointed with the standard in this guesthouse. Nice welcome but poor breakfast. Still we came for the sights. It was a busy time in Edinburgh

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank bslrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithDenise, Keith , Denise Patton . Owners at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2006

In response to the latest comment posted on the Trip Advisor site , we find it absolutely astonishing that this particular Texas couple have posted such unfounded comments on Trip Advisor .
We know the identity of this couple and the comments they have written in our visitors guest book on departure , quote " THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL VISIT , GREAT FOOD AND COMFORT " Sept 2006 , certainly does NOT correspond to what they have posted on Trip Advisor . Also certainly not the views of many fellow guests who stay with us

As I am sure that this couple will have noticed in our dining room the many , many thank you cards / letters from all over the world telling us how woderful as hosts we are and appreciating everything that we have done for them and making it such an enjoyable holiday . Best Regards. Keith, Denise and Lucy Patton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

if you want a relaxing few days then forget it. If you want a regimented few days then this is for you!
No showers after 9.30pm (where on earth have we come across that!) Also TV on a setting that is so low that we had to move close to hear it. Absolutely no way of changing it.
We are not inconsiderate guests but we do expect some home comforts and at the end of an evening we don't want to feel compelled to have waterless quietness.

There are superb guesthouses in Edinburgh. Look on Tripadvisor and choose them.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithDenise, OWNER at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2006

To all prospective new viewers , it has just been brought to myself and my wifes attention the review posted in Aug 2006 .
We ( Keith , Denise Patton ) have spent the last 4yrs building up what was a VERY run down guest house into a successful family owned buisness . Please look at our testimonials on our web site or by all means read our guest book and read all the thank you cards / postcards from very happy guests from all over the world which are in our diningroom allowing everyone to read.
The comments that have been posted are not exactly accurate , the shower facilities in question are shared / used by other guests . And for the CONSIDERATIOAN and RESPECT of fellow guests next to this bathroom we ask guests not to shower late at night which we have opperated for the past 4yrs and found all guests to be fully in co-operation and support of this as along with not accepting Hen / Stag nights and groups , in order to maintain a quiet relaxing , peaceful atmosphere .
Regarding the t.v . volume ! We do not know of any companies that supply t.v,s at a set sound . ( if anyone knows please let me know !! ) Again all we ask is for guests to have consideration for fellow guests in the next rooms, we feel in turn that this person / persons were not willing to respect fellow guests staying with us ( maybe better suited to a hotel next time )
We ( Keith , Denise ) pride ourselves with many regular guests over the last 4yrs that have since become personal friends .
We aim to give all our guests a peaceful and relaxing stay outwith their normal busy hectic lives .
Best Regards . Keith , Denise Patton
( Lucy Patton , daughter )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre 8 que bous occupions a salle de bain et toilettes à l'intérieur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Giulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank pepesalvadei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cruachan Guest House
#172 of 394 in Edinburgh
58 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#139 of 394 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#125 of 394 in Edinburgh
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 394 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
MW Townhouse
#318 of 394 in Edinburgh
95 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#44 of 394 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing