We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lyncliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
9
18
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
18
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostswaverley stationwalking distanceroyal milewifishoweraccommodationcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I do not understand how can some place be allowed to keep the name of "Hotel" in Greta Britain. The standard on this island is abysmal ! This was not even at a par of a Hostel. Shared toilet, shared shower, cramped room, bed backing the large window letting the light through somne worn out venetian blinds. Strong yellow and green coloured strips of wall paper on the ceiling, cracks on the side walls. A real dump ! And we paid £75 per night.
For goodness sake do not people from GB travel the world and see what one can get for this nightly rate elsewhere ? It is shameful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nino54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear new Guests and previous Guests,

Just to let you know that old negative comments from 1995,96,97,98 till end of 2011 are old and we appreciated and learned from that, and we are trying our best to improve our service and to please our new guest and previous customers who already stayed with us. Now we have some changes in our Lyncliff Hotel, B&B,Edinburgh, we have a lot of improvement specially in our rooms, new decor, new fresh color, freeview tv, new modern deco room heating, modern lighting, new mirror and comfortable beds. We are still considering other improvements / changes in the future to beat the competition here in the City of Edinburgh when it comes to accomodation.
Hope you will give us a chance to prove that we are really serious in giving you a very good, much better or an excellent services as we are committed to hospitality business.

Kind regards,
Lyncliff Hotel B&B, Edinburgh City / Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Good thing about the hotel is the location which is within 10 min from the Waverly Station. I stay in the hotel for 2 nights in May 2008. The hotel environment is like you're staying in the house with the bathroom and toilet outside. Room, toilet, bathroom are clean and in good condition. There is a basin inside the room although a bit noisy you can hear the sound of the running water using by the occupant next door and also the sound of them talking. The wireless internet connection inside the room is marvellous. Breakfast is fresh and nice. They have the vegetarian food as well, Overall the stay was good and worth it for money.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank RosesladyRoseslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2005

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, 2005. Their website says that they have free on-site parking. Upon arriving, I asked where we should park. The woman who checked us in said that we could try to find a spot on the street, or try to find a place to park somewhere in town. The street has about 50 parking spots, and there are approximately 8 hotels and numerous apartments and homes on the block. I also thought our room was en-suite, which it was not. Normally, this wouldn't be a big deal, but there was 1 toilet and 2 showers for the whole floor (about 8-10 people). And, the toilet didn't work all of the time! It was VERY difficult to flush, so more than half of the time I went to use it, it wasn't flushed properly. The bathroom was pretty gross in the respect, and smelled of urine. The showers were tiny, and next to impossible to get into. My husband and I are both tall and thin, and we had trouble manuvering our way in and out! They had shower doors that opened up to the hallway door, making it a VERY tight squeeze to get into the shower. The water would be hot, then cold, and the shower was VERY loud. The shower rooms were also covered in mildew and mold from the lack of ventilation. The bed in the room was also VERY uncomfortable. There were springs that kept poking us in the side or back that made sleep difficult. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, either. Overall, for the money, it is NOT worth it. There are numerous other hotels and B & Bs in Edinburgh that are FAR better than this one.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank McBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager / Proprietor at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2007

Dear Trip Advisor,

Thanks for presenting the comments of our previous guest who stayed in our Hotel.
Now Lyncliff Hotel has new comfortable beds.
The bathroom has new attractive tiles and much cleaner. The Dining room is newly decorated with a comfortable leather chairs.
Full cooked breakfast is served and included with the rate.
Lyncliff Hotel has still an original feature and designed by architect William Playfair dated 1800. It should be treated unique compare to the new buildings according to the size either bigger or small shower. But gladly the toilets and bathroom in this place are spacious .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Coger las habitaciones con baño incluido
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goyong, Manager at Lyncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews