We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #147 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night
Yes hotel does look tired but we were quite comfy we ate here in the evening then had drinks then breakfast in morning
We used a taxi service 7777777 to get about very reasonable
if you want luxury stay somewhere else and pay a lot more

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    315
    380
    337
    632
See reviews for
232
832
99
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a few months back with my family for my daughters birthday, never again. There were toe nail clippings on the floor, the bathroom was filthy and the service was cold and uninviting. I've stayed in a few hotels in Edinburgh but I would not recommend this to anyone.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Barron86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is tired and is in dire need of refurbishment, the reception and bar area are fine and quite standard for a hotel
The rooms are basic and tired, the room was a big room but didn't have much in it other than a bed which was too soft and not comfy, a old sofa bed type thing which personally I wouldn't have slept in and a desk and tv not a great deal for a room of this size, the shower was ok, so overall somewhere to sleep which is what we were after in all honesty, one thing they could do with is a phone in the room, we had very noisy neighbours who thought it acceptable to have some sort of party at about four in the morning, and would have been handy to ring down to reception at this point, not sure if I personally would stop here again but it's not the worst hotel in Edinburgh I'm sure

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was definitely one of the worst experiences I've ever had. I booked this hotel just to spend the night before my flight back home after a full week of experiencing Edinburgh and the Highlands. My intention was to be modest on the last night; hence didn't make the effort to go for a 4* hotel. First thing to mention is that the entrance of the hotel is at the back of the building, opposite to the main road and it gives you the impression that you're going to a garage rather than a comforting moment. While doing the check-in, the girl wasn't friendly at all. I stayed in room 122 and inside everything was dirty: walls, floor, bathroom. Actually, I do believe the bathroom wasn't cleaned before we got in there. There was hair all over the place. My girlfriend and I didn't use it except to wash our face the next morning. The bed sheets were dirty, thus we had to sleep with the hotel towels covering the sheets and a t-shirt for the pillows. I was so pissed I merely checked-out 20mins after checking-in, but eventually stayed and managed to sleep a couple of hours till the time to go to the airport.
I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelomonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was a last minute booking and £49 for the room on a Saturday in Edinburgh is outstanding.
At one time, this was the 4 star Ladbrokes Dragonara, then it became a Travelodge and now owned by Britannia Hotels.
Room was ok. Bed was spotless. Carpets and bathroom floor cleaning was ok except for edges and corners, which badly needed done
Its a fiver a day for residents to park their car. Hotel is handy for Haymarket, a 10 minute walk,and Edinburgh West. End just a little further.
Its basic, yes. Not quite up to even Travelodge standard, but at a cheap price it did the job.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Visited 2 nights November 2013, this hotel was built in 1981, and looks like it's not been updated since, very basic, very drab. Parking for residents is £5.00 for 24 hours. Breakfast was alt you can eat, one plate was enough. All in all, to get your head down its okay, other than that forget it. Cheap and not cheerful.

Helpful?
3 Thank IanIngamells
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After reading previous reviews we were expecting a lot worse, room was clean and well furnished and though we were by the road I didn't hear much traffic noise. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but was perfectly fine. Breakfast was good too! Definitely good value for money as wine/breakfast for two/stay was all under £50 and definitely good value especially to stay so close to the center. Would stay again because cheap and well located even if slightly tatty and in need of refurbishment as had no problems and didn't affect my enjoyment of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lxe293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#136 of 149 in Edinburgh
97 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
401 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing