We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap (and you get what you pay for)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #149 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a basic hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable: visibly sagging into the middle and creaked and groaned whenever we rolled over in the night. Rooms were only cleaned in the morning, so as we were out late and up at around 11 or 12, our room was never cleaned. It was missing really obvious stuff like a hook or rail to hang a towel on and the curtain stopped about six inches above the shower tray, so the floor got a bit soggy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were disappointed with our recent stay at this hotel. The overall housekeeping standard was poor. Room was not well vacuumed and in the bathroom there were rust marks at the hand rail and the shower curtain had brown stains at the bottom. The window frame was broken and the fitting for the blind had come away from the wall. When we went for breakfast on the first morning, there was very little in the hot food area. There should have been 8 items, but only 3 were available at 8.15! We complained and were told that this was because they "had 2 large tours in last night." I would have thought that was reason enough to make sure there was enough food ready for all their guests. It was 8.45 before more sausages and eggs appeared. We had stayed here in the past and the standard was better than this. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CS1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

lovely hotel, lovely staff, clean room, great view........although it was quite a walk from the main places although there was a nice collection of bars and restaurants on the way 2 the city centre. would definately go back there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellenna_connelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight, two adults, and we had payed extra for an upgraded room.
Firstly let me say, we only saw our room and the bar/restaurant, but I think this hotel could do with a full refurb.Britannia hotels seem to have just bought it over, changed a few name plaques from travel lodge and let it roll on.
We stayed in room 19 in the old mill part of the hotel, if we hadnt had THE most uncomfy matress in all of our world travels it would have been an adequate stay.
The staff were lovely, helpful people, the bar restaurant was good, nice cold draught beer and decent bar food at reasonable prices.
Buy some new mattresses,if people get a good night's sleep they can forgive most little problems, it honestly was the worst mattress I have ever used, my wife and I kind of rolled into the middle of the bed without having to move!!!
God help anyone who isnt talking to their partner when they stay here, they wont have a choice,getting up close is what this bevelled mattress does to you.
Seriously though, good staff, good food, including a buffet breakfast, let down by sub standard accommodation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank harrymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of a groupon deal. We got a 2 course meal, a bottle of wine and a standard double room for £89 pounds so couldn't complain. On entering the room it was really cold and had a strange smell. It was very basic and small. I noticed what looked like pubic hairs on the towel in the bathroom as well as dirty walls. The food was average, nothing to boast about. The bed was really uncomfortable neither my boyfriend or I got a decent sleep. I will definitely not be returning and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Outdated rooms, bathroom not clean, toilet flush didn't work properly, bath badly damaged, bed very uncomfortable after walking round a beautiful city all day, this was our 2nd visit as had to complain the 1st time has no hot water, this was a free stay on the back of the original complaint after being assured by the operations manager that there would have been a re fit when we returned-and there hadn't been and found the operations manager had been fired. Think senior operations need to visit and stay and implement changes

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOLDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A friend and I booked a twin room for the rugby at Murrayfield, on way to room for first time hotel looking well used, on entering room it smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke and one of the offending fag ends was susequently found in the sink. Tidy.
Mattresses didnt fit or match bed bases, scuffs and dents present on most walls and some doors, bathroom hardware in need of repair etc.
£150.00 for b&b is too expensive for this establishment, half that amount would be plenty.
The guy on reception friendly and efficient and the barmaid was also very helpful, friendly nothing was too much trouble. They both deserve to work in a better hotel tbh.
The Brittania would be perfectly described as student halls of residence, very basic rooms in very basic condition.
PS breakfast surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
Old Town
Courtyard Edinburgh West
Courtyard Edinburgh West
#133 of 151 in Edinburgh
26 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £31 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing