We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #147 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired and rundown”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night, and it was one night too many..the whole place is tired and rundown, with flaking paint, holes in walls and damp patches, we paid nearly £100 (and that didn't include breakfast) for the night and we've stayed in much nicer places for half the cost, we're not fussy people and not in the habit of complaining but this really was rubbish, I believe you get what you pay for but we wouldn't stay there again if we were paid to.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    314
    379
    336
    632
See reviews for
231
832
99
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. It was reasonably priced. The room was quite small (no issues with that) but there were hairs on the windowsill, shower and bathroom shelf. Clearly the cleaners had not really done a proper job. The reception service was excellent and I did mention to to them and they noted it in the book. We had a hire car - parking is £5 for 24 hours but there is on street metered parking on the main streets outside. The meters run from Mon - Sat 8am - 6pm so we only needed an hour on the Monday morning so paid much less than the £5 by parking on the street (Sundays free). the hotel still has some of the Travelodge signs up which shows they haven't rally rebranded and spent little to move it to the new Britannia chain. The bed was not particularly comfortable. I have no major complaints though for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Not at the front of the hotel (road side) as the deliveries start very early through the fire doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

All I can say is staff where friendly, but the hotel was unclean and needs some TLC eg. Skirtings need cleaning, corners, needs paintings I can go on... There was blood stains on the bed covers a funny smell in the room and corridors. Someone had written on the wall s***hole (109). In the morning we had breakfast with the builders as they are refurbishing the hotel I really feel this is wrong. I wouldn't go back again it's a shame it's just been left to be run down it has so much potential.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganMich29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I feel quite bad on some of the staff writing this because they were quite nice but the whole stay here was just so disappointing. We bought a deal from wowcher for £49 which gave us a nights stay, beer and burger evening meal and a breakfast. When we called to book they were very pushy to get us to upgrade our room from standard to executive for just an extra £10 so we agreed. However when we arrived we explained to the gentleman on reception we had to pay this extra £10 but after searching his PC for a while he could not find this and explained we didn't owe anything but it was just a standard room. It wasn't that much of a big deal we thought as stayed with Britannia before and standard rooms were fine. We were also informed the car park was £5 for 24 hours but if this is made aware on their website it is well hidden as I thourally checked this before booking - again not too bad as the hotel was so quiet their was street parking opposite so we parked there instead.

There were signs up explaining the hotel was undergoing refurbishment and if guests wanted to discuss then just ask. There was a lot of dust everywhere the carpets were really filthy and a lot had trodden in. Outside one room towels had been left for a guest on the floor on top of all this muck and that is the last thing I would want to wrap round me after getting in the shower. On the way to our room all the signs and door numbers seemed very familiar, we are regular visitors of Travelodge and they were identical to theirs. The corridors were freezing cold and smelt of damp. When we got into the room it had a funny cold smell that hit us straight away and it was absolutely freezing cold. Again the room looked familiar even the painting on the wall was one we had seen in a travelodge but it was so run down not to the clean travelodge standard. The floor had not been hoovered, the walls were filthy and had stains running own them. Walls were dented and broken. The bathroom was filthy and there was mould all over the ceiling. The bathroom window had frosted panes all except one in the middle which meant no privacy in the bathroom and no toilet dignity - we ended up covering this with a towel. In the main room there was a window which looked straight into the corridor so everyone passing could see straight in. The third window which overlooked the car park had a crack in it and was covered in condensation and then damp in the corners. Basically no privacy in the room at all so we had to close all blinds and sit with the light on.

The beer and burger (which should have been £8.95 each) was very simple and small not worth the amount it should have been but ok as part of deal. The bread was stale and the salad was just 2 slice of tomato, a piece of lettuce and the smallest amount of onion. You only get 2 choices of drink with the burger and it took a long time to get served even though there was only 1 other party in the restaurant. The tables were sticky and you didn't get many condiments we (and the other party) had to go routing round other tables to find things.

Because it was so cold we had left the heater on while we had tea but when we came back even though still switched on it was freezing. We had to switch it off then switch it on again to get it to work. We then noticed that both the heater and the plug were both overdue a facilities check, the heater in 2012 and the plug in 2011.

When we got to sleeping we discovered a stain on the sheets that looked like blood. I know blood stains and the sheets did smell clean but I don't think acceptable to put bloodstained sheets back on a bed when paying guests are sleeping there. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. It was two twins pushed together but they wouldn't clip together right so it was like sleeping in separate beds. Because of the broken heater and the cracked window we were freezing all night. The walls and floors were so thin that we were kept up ill the early hours by the people above us banging constantly. The bed was right next to he corridor and everytime someone walked down it then it echoed all through the room.

Breakfast was ok but again if not part of the deal then not worth £7.95 you should pay for it. It was usual buffet breakfast but with limited continental. The apple juice was almost empty and there was no orange juice and the one person staffing the breakfast looked absolutely rushed off his feet. Again the tables were sticky and hunting ketchup.

Won't be staying at this place again it definitely needs the refurb. Have stayed at Britannias before and they haven't been like this so hasn't put me off the brand entirely but will stick to Travelodge if visiting this area again.

Room Tip: Ask about the following - heating, damp, bed, sheets and thickness of walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I stayed one night and when he went in for his planned hospital stay I stayed on for a further 2 nights. I asked to stay in the same room when we first arrived which wasn't a bother. We booked buffet breakfasts on arrival which were very nice and included all the usual items. E.g. scrambled eggs, tomato, beans , sausage, black pudding, bacon, toast, cereals, juices, fruit , yoghurts etc.
We felt the hotel was great value for money and only a 20 minute walk to the Western Hospital and a ten minute walk into Princes Street. They are working on this hotel at the moment but it didn't interfere with our stay in the slightest. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a basic hotel. The bed was very uncomfortable: visibly sagging into the middle and creaked and groaned whenever we rolled over in the night. Rooms were only cleaned in the morning, so as we were out late and up at around 11 or 12, our room was never cleaned. It was missing really obvious stuff like a hook or rail to hang a towel on and the curtain stopped about six inches above the shower tray, so the floor got a bit soggy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were disappointed with our recent stay at this hotel. The overall housekeeping standard was poor. Room was not well vacuumed and in the bathroom there were rust marks at the hand rail and the shower curtain had brown stains at the bottom. The window frame was broken and the fitting for the blind had come away from the wall. When we went for breakfast on the first morning, there was very little in the hot food area. There should have been 8 items, but only 3 were available at 8.15! We complained and were told that this was because they "had 2 large tours in last night." I would have thought that was reason enough to make sure there was enough food ready for all their guests. It was 8.45 before more sausages and eggs appeared. We had stayed here in the past and the standard was better than this. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
86 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 149 in Edinburgh
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
398 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing