We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #149 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good experience...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I are traveling abroad from Australia for our honeymoon and decided to stay at Hotel Britannia for it's fair rates and ok location.

Our first impression was that our room looked nothing like the pictures shown when we made the booking. They were doing renovations and it became apparent that we were placed in the older part of the hotel.

When we entered our room, it smelt strongly of bleach. The size was decent though. The further into our stay however, the more issues arised... On our second day, our room had been made up however we no longer had any towels and our toilet paper had not been replaced (not to mention the bed had barely been made, with cushions strewn on the floor). Staff were apathetic to our request of these, and we were eventually given a box of tissues instead of toilet paper - apparently they had run out of toilet paper even though they did not say this. We were not the only guests who had this happen to them.

We were kept awake til after 2am one morning by loud and inebriated people who were outside, despite the hotel's policy on drinking outside. Nobody from staff asked them to be quiet.

On top of this, our card key did not always work; the hot water often ran out in the shower; the buffet breakfast was not worth the money (plus a staff member tried to remove a tray of food as I was about to serve some on my plate); the wifi was frustratingly slow and would only work in the early hours of the morning; the hotel was generally noisy with staff, workers and other guests.

Overall, Hotel Britannia is not worth the cheap rate you pay. It is worth less.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    306
    372
    317
    587
See reviews for
221
796
98
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my now fiance.. he proposed that night and when the staff found out they gave us a drink on the house to celebrate. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean with great facilities. Overall we had a fab night and we will definitely be back to stay again :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was booked into this hotel on 1st May 2014 by my company at the request of a colleague, after a 5 hour drive i arrived to find the receptionist wiping up blood with paper towels "unprotected" both outside & inside reception. I hesitated to check in, but did so to give it the benefit of doubt and proceeded to my allocated room, when exiting the lift on floor 2 the landing was also covered in blood. Undeterred i opened the room door and was met with large soiled carpet staines, i pulled back the bed clothing to find the mattress was heavily urine stained which confirmed my suspicions. On challenging the staff on reception, they offered me a "clean room". Duly checked out with 3 colleagues in pursuit. Do yourself a favour, stay clear of this hotel its a "minger" !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was a nice hotel with fine breakfast but it wasn't a good idea to place the entrance where it is now! Room was little draughty but we had a nice view over the river. Staff was very helpfull! Price - quality was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

OK, a bargain basement price for a hotel night in Edinburgh, (£47 for B&B), but honestly, this place has gone seriously downhill since I was last here (when it was the Menzies Belford). Grubby decor, sparse rooms, plastic furniture and a breakfast which unfortunately lived up to my poor expectations. Oh, and there was NO hot water at the shower!
WON'T be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee_monsieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Please stay clear of this hotel at all cost.iI am still waiting for the manager to answer my complaint. I have pictures of the dirty sheets we slept in and only noticed in the morning having put the light out to jump in bend.There' is a red substance smeared all over them looks like blood but also red pen scribbled all over white bottom sheet. This confirms this bed was never changed!!! Then to add insult to injury all ŵe wanted to do was have a hot shower scrub ourselves and get out, only to find the water was freezing cold and had no alternative but to brave it. There was a que at reception we had to join in an order for complaints. Beware!!!! N

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had a very nice room, newly decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was very good,plenty of choice and always hot. Our only complaint was that the distance from the hotel to princes Street (if not using a car) was quite a distance. Anyone who was not able to walk very far would not have coped. The nearest bus stop was about 15mins walk from the hotel and one way was uphill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiilsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing